Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art Research Databases
Art & Architecture Source
A broad range of related subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Searches the content of these well known art resources: Art Index Retrospective, Art Index and Art Abstracts. Also called Art Source. Coverage dates: 1937-present.
Academic Search Ultimate
Cross-disciplinary with full text of 6,500+ scholarly journals. Thousands of additional publications with good links to full-text. Coverage dates: Varies.
Art History Research net
Consists of three databases: Design Abstracts Retrospective, ReVIEW, and Arts+Architecture ProFiles. Design Abstracts Retrospective (DAR) is a new ongoing abstracting and indexing service that aims to cover full contents of 70 of the most important design and applied arts journals published during the 20th century. Coverage dates: 1893 - 1986.
Bloomsbury Design Library
Comprehensive global coverage of the history, theory and practice of crafts and design. Coverage dates: Prehistoric times to the present.
OmniFile Full Text Select
Provides access to the full text of articles from approximately 3,400 publications, many of them peer-reviewed. Core subjects include art, education, humanities, law, social sciences and technology. Some graphical content, podcasts, foreign language article translations and article read-alouds. Coverage dates: 1994 - current.
Readers Guide Retrospective 1890-1982
Electronic version of an essential print reference, provides indexing for millions of articles in over 500 leading magazines. Includes peer-reviewed and consumer publications. Key finding tool for many 20th century publications where indexing did not begin until the 1980s. Readers Guide to Periodical Literature. Coverage dates: 1890-1982.
Fort Worth Museum Libraries
Use this link to search library collections of the Amon Carter Museum, Kimbell Art Museum and the National Cowgirl Museum and Hall of Fame. The collections are non-circulating, but materials are available for use at the museum by making an appointment with the museum library.
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
Contains citations and abstracts from over 500 design and craft journals and newspapers. Research articles, news items, conference and seminar reports, book, video and exhibition reviews are covered. Both new designers and the development of design and applied arts are covered. Coverage dates: 1973 - Current.
Official Museum Directory Online
Online version of the Official Museum Directory. Includes all types of museums within the United States. Coverage dates: Current.
Bibliography of the History of Art
BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art) is a merger of RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art/ Repertoire de la litterature de l'art) and RAA (Directory of Art and Archaeology/Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie). BHA includes articles from over 1,200 journals. BHA includes all articles within the subject scope of BHA regardless of the subject focus of a particular journal. Thus, many of the journals on this list are covered partially, as only some of their articles are within BHA's scope. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007.
This digital collection includes books and primary source documents from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, and libraries around the world. Coverage dates: Varies.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Primary source collection with an emphasis on the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration, and antebellum life. Coverage dates: 1801 - 1900.
Getty Research Portal
The Getty Research Portal is an online search platform providing global access to digitized art history texts in the public domain. The Portal is comprised of catalog records that link to full, digitized texts held at contributing institutions.
American Periodicals Series
Includes special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. Coverage dates: 1740 - 1900.
British Periodicals Collection I-IV
Almost 500 journals, newspapers and magazines spanning the late 17th through early 21st centuries, and covering a range of topics such as literature and drama, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences. Coverage dates: 1681 -2005.
19th Century UK Periodicals: Series 2 - Empire
Primary source periodical literature from the UK. Coverage dates: 1800 - 1900.
Gallica Digital Library
Digitized collection containing over one million books and documents, such as manuscripts, maps, and images, and periodicals in French.
US Major Dailies
Provides access to The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The content is available by 8am each day. Images are not included. Coverage dates: 1985 - current day.
Database Search Tips
Use quotation marks to search for an exact person, place or thing related to your topic.
Root Word Searching
Enter the root of a word and put an asterisk * at the end.
The database will return results that include any ending
of that root word.
light* = light, lighted, lighting
photo* = photograph, photographable,