Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best Multi-Discpline Databases
Most of the following databases are focused on literature and the arts. However, JSTOR and ProjectMUSE offer scholarly articles in the social and physical sciences. If you want articles in Spanish only, make sure to indicate that when entering your search terms.
Full-text database in many different subject areas. It is especially strong in Arts and Sciences
Full-text scholarly journal articles.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
An index of historical journals, books, and dissertations covering all aspects of world history. 6 concurrent users maximum
Academic Search Ultimate
A large, multidisciplinary database that abstracts and indexes 9000+ journals.
Hispanic Studies Databases
Fuente Academica Premier
Provides full-text access to over 250 Spanish language scholarly journals from Latin American and Spanish publishers.
MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations produced by the Modern Language Association.
Literature Criticism Online
Includes the following six Thompson-Gale series:Contemporary Literary Criticism,Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Short Story Criticism.
Literature Resource Center
The databases includes criticism, biographies, bibliographies, work overviews and explications, periodical articles, and full-text author's works.
Humanities International Index
Indexes and abstracts over 2000 titles in the humanities, including creative works, such as poems, fiction, photographs, paintings, and illustrations.
Gale Artemis Literary Sources
All Gale literary resources, including Contemporary Authors, Literature Criticism Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography. Database has critical essays and articles, biographical information, and critical sources for further research. You can also search a particular publication or electronic resource. Coverage dates: varies
Humanities & Theatre
Subjects: Citation Tools
, English Literature and Composition
, Film, TV & Digital Media
, Library Basics
, Modern Language Studies
, Spanish & Hispanic Studies
, Women and Gender Studies