Skip to main content

Amon Carter Museum of American Art, Research Library: Research Guides: Amon Carter Museum of American Art, Research Library

Research Library Overview

Complementing the museum's art collection, the research library offers an extensive range of materials on American art, photography, and history from the early nineteenth century to the present.

TCU students working on any topic relating to the American experience—especially those with connections with the visual arts—will likely find material to support their research at the museum's library. Owing to its subject specialty and depth, the library often collects materials not available at the TCU library such as gallery and museum publications, clipping material, publications with original art, and auction catalogs.  

Library Hours

Monday - Tuesday: closed

Wednesday: 11am - 4pm

Thursday: 11am - 7pm

Friday: 11am - 4pm

Saturday: 11am - 4pm

Contacts and Services

Reference Desk
817.989.5040

Email
library@cartermuseum.org

Physical Address
Amon Carter Museum of American Art,
3501 Camp Bowie Blvd., Fort Worth, TX 76107

Photocopies, digital scanning, public computers, and Wi-Fi available.

Library materials may not be checked out but may be requested through TCU interlibrary loan office.

Digital Museum Publications

About the Museum's Art Collection

Search the Catalog

 

Announcements

For more information on upcoming Wikipedia Edit-a-Thons, email us at library@cartermuseum.org or check out our Meetup page: Wikipedia:Meetup/ACMAA EaT

The Reading Room is open to the public from 11am - 4pm on Wednesdays, Fridays, and Saturdays, and from 11am - 7pm on Thursdays. We are open by appointment only on Mondays and Tuesdays, by contacting us at library@cartermuseum.org or by phone at 817-989-5040.

Featured Publications

New titles in the museum library not held at TCU

Special Collections Highlight

The Amon Carter Museum of American Art holds the archives of Karl Struss, containing his papers and approximately 7400 of his commercial and artistic photographs from across his career. Struss started working in photography in 1906 using his brother’s second-hand camera. By 1910, his natural talent drew the attention of art impresario Alfred Stieglitz, who brought Struss into the New York Photo-Secession movement as the youngest and last member. He served in the military 1917-1919. After his discharge, he put his technical and artistic acumen to use for the movie studios, starting as a still photographer for publicity department of the Lasky Studio and Cecil B. De Mille. Within three days of coming on the lot he was put behind the movie camera on For Better, For Worse (1919). In 1927 he was a founding member of the Academy of Motion Picture arts and Sciences, one of only fifteen cinematographers invited to join. He won the first Academy award (Oscar) for Sunrise: A Song of Two Humans (1927), and was nominated a further three times for his work before his retirement in 1970. A full survey of his life and work can be found in New York to Hollywood: The Photography of Karl Struss, published by the Amon Carter Museum and the University of New Mexico Press.

Book and Periodicals Collection

The library currently holds about 150,000 items, including over 50,000 books, about 20,000 bound and loose periodicals, and over 60,000 pieces of microform. Together these resources offer extensive coverage of American art, photography, and history (with emphasis on the history of the western United States), along with related topics.

Microform Collection

The Amon Carter library has 14,000 microfilm reels of nineteenth-century newspapers, periodicals, books, and primary material, plus more than 50,000 microfiches of auction and exhibition catalogues, ephemera, and other material. Most of this material is available in the library's catalog.

Ephemera Collection

This unique collection contains a variety of loose material and small publications on artists, museums, commercial galleries, organizations, and subjects.

Archives of American Art

As an associated research center of the Archives of American Art, the Research Library is home to a set of about 7,500 microfilm reels of unrestricted material from the archives representing about fifteen-million primary, unpublished documents that helps tell the rich story of the visual arts in America.

Archives and Special Collections

The Amon Carter Museum Archives collection was established in 1991 with a two-year grant from the National Historical Publications and Records Commission. The museum acquires, preserves, and makes accessible collections of private papers and institutional records of enduring value. Archival collections are available by appointment to qualified researchers who demonstrate a need to use the unique materials in the collection.