Government information, ebooks, and primary sources from a variety of places, including Google, the Internet Archive, and libraries around the world. Coverage dates: 1850 - present
Primary and secondary resources about women in the US. It also includes a digital archive of publications of federal, state, and local Commissions on the Status of Women and an edition of the five-volume biographical dictionary Notable American Women. Coverage dates: 1600 - 2000
Prominent American weekly newsmagazine, covering national and international current events, politics, sports, and entertainment. Coverage dates: 1923 - 2000
Magazine providing an in-depth look at American politics, foreign policy, and culture. Coverage dates: 1914 - present
Experiencing the Past
The TCU Library is fortunate to have several audiovisual databases that offer both archival and visual recordings. Newsreels, Associated Press images, and song and radio recordings are offered in the following databases.
Videos on multiple subjects from Films for the Humanities and Sciences, PBS, History Channel, National Geographic, TED, global television networks, and more. Embedding, linking, and interactive transcripts are available. Coverage dates: 1903 - present
Audio music from America's past including Native Americans, immigrants, slaves, pioneers, civil rights, politics, Prohibition, Revolutionary and Civil Wars, anti-war protests and more. Coverage dates: Current
A neat feature of this database is that you can search by historical event. If you need a song from a particular time period or event like the Civil War, the Revolution, the Industrial Age, the Gold Rush, etc. it's easy to find!
The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives.
