Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
EndNote is reference management software with features to—
- Keep all your references and reference-related materials in a searchable personal library.
Synchronize your references between up to three of your personal computers, an online library, and your iPad, through EndNote sync. (You must be the owner and user of all three computers.)
Share your references with collaborators through EndNote sync.
Use your references in word-processing documents to create formatted citations and bibliographies or independent reference lists.
Downloading EndNote X9
Install EndNote X9 on your personal computer to help manage your research. Organize references, save images and PDFs in any language, search the contents of PDFs, create citations and bibliographies as you write. It has more advanced features than RefWorks, but is not as easy to use. You may need a class or tutorials to learn EndNote.
EndNote is available to TCU Faculty, Staff and students. Click here for the download link to EndNote X9.
EndNote for iPad
EndNote is only available on the iPhone or iPad:
EndNote for iPad
- EndNote is a free app in the App Store
- EndNote app works with both EndNote Web and the Software
CWYW: Beyond the Basics: A Live Class Recording
Using EndNote to Track Your Academic Footprint
Groups, Syncing, and Sharing References: A Live Class Recording
Library Sharing in EndNote X8
EndNote X9 Helper Documents
EndNote 9: Manual
EndNote 9 Manual with appropriate instructions for you operating system.
Converting From Reference Manager to EndNote
This provides instructions for converting Reference Manager databases to EndNote libraries, and citations in Word created with Reference Manager to EndNote citations.
Medical Journals Term List
Medical journals added after the EndNote X8.1 update. This list can also be used with earlier versions of EndNote. Unzip before importing to EndNote.
Online Citation Manuals
AMA Manual of Style Online
The online AMA Manual of Style has a streamlined interface, intuitive search and browse, and personalization features, so finding what you need in the Manual is easier than ever. Coverage dates: Current.
Chicago Manual of Style
The Chicago Manual of Style Online allows you to search or browse the full text of the latest edition. Limited to 25 users at once.
RefWorks is web-based software for managing article citations and other research data. It helps researchers gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies. First-time users should sign up for an individual account using their TCU email address.
EndNote X9 (installation instructions and link to download software)
Install EndNote on your personal computer to help manage your research. Organize references, save images and PDFs in any language, search contents of PDFs, create citations and bibliographies as you write. It has more advanced features than RefWorks, and it may take a while to learn how to use it to its fullest potential. You may need a class or tutorials to learn EndNote. EndNote YouTube Training.
Nursing & Health Sciences Librarian
Journal Names: How to Set Up a Journals Term List
Working with PDFs and other attachments: A Live Class Recording
What Are You Missing by Using Only EndNote Basic?
Four Ways to Import Data from PubMed: A Live Class Recording
Three Ways to Add References from Web of Science: A Live Class Recording