Skip to main content

Core Documents of Our Democracy: Searching in ProQuest Congressional Databases

The resources found in this guide are vital sources of information that support the public's right to know about the workings and essential activities of the Federal Government.

How to Get to ProQuest Databases from the Library's Catalog

Go to the Library's website (lib.tcu.edu), click on the Databases tab and choose the letter P

The databases under P are listed in alphabetical order.  Scroll down to ProQuest and choose from the list of Congressional databases.

You will be taken to the ProQuest Congressional Homepage where you are able to:

  • Do Basic & Advanced Searches
  • Search by Bill, Law and/or Resolution Number
  • Find Member & Committee Records and Demographics
  • Search for Regulations in the Federal Register or the Code of Federal Regulations
  • And much more...

Search by Number

If you happen to know the number of a Bill or a Law or if you have the SuDoc number for a document you have the ability to specifically search for those.

On the homepage click on the Legislative & Executive Publications tab and select Search by Number.

Search by Number --- Legislative Citations

Under the Legislative Citations tab you can search by number for:

  • Bills
  • Public Laws
  • Statutes at Large
  • Public Resolutions
  • Vote Reports
  • US Code Citations

Search by Number --- Bibliographic Citations

Under the Bibliographic Citations tab you can search by number for:

  • Publication Numbers
  • SuDoc Numbers
  • Accession Numbers
  • Serial Set Volumes

Search by Number --- Congressional Record Citations

Under the Congressional Record Citations tab you can search by number for:

  • Congressional Record Page Citations with Volume
  • Daily Edition to Bound Edition Cross References
  • Dates
  • Congressional Record Bound Index Volumes by Congress

Search by Number --- Congressional Record Daily Citations

Under the Congressional Record Daily Citations tab you can search by number for:

  • Daily Record Page Citations
  • Dates

Political News & Social Media

Under the News & Social Media tab ProQuest has made it possible to limit by the items below:

Congress in Context

Under the Congress in Context tab ProQuest created historical profiles to discover more about the setting, personnel and events which may have influenced the legislation created during a particular Congressional period.

EXAMPLE:  President Donald Trump

Advanced Search

Advanced search is the best way to search for Congressional documents in ProQuest.

On the homepage click on the Legislative & Executive Publications tab and select Advanced Search OR just click on Advanced under the basic search bar.

In Advance Search you may limit the types of documents in your search.  The dates of what are available for the type of document are also listed.

You are also able to limit your search by Date or Congress.

EXAMPLE:  Searching for Documents on "UFOs".  Limited the search to Hearings only by clicking on "Select all" to clear out the check marks and checked the Hearings box only.  Then the dates were limited to Prior to 1970.

Two hearings were found from prior to 1970 regarding UFOs.  Notice that you have the options on this page to see the Citation/Abstract, access the Full text and get the Permalink to the document.

Members & Committees

By clicking on Members & Committees you're able to search the:

  • Members Records
  • Members & Committees Demographics
  • Committees

On the homepage click on the Members & Committees tab to select your search preference.

Member Records:

Demographics:

Committees:

Regulations

Under the Regulations tab you are able to search for regulations by Keyword or Citation.

When searching in Keyword the publications you may select are:

  • Federal Register
  • Code of Federal Regulations

You also may Limit By:

  • Agency
  • Action

  • Date

When searching in Regulation Citation you may select:

  • Federal Register
  • Code of Federal Regulations

Related Databases

From the homepage, ProQuest gives you the option to access other available ProQuest databases from the Congressional database.  As of 10/31/2018, these are the examples of the additional databases: