Skip to Main Content

Children's Literature: Newbery Award

For students taking children's literature classes

About Newbery Award Books at TCU

TCU owns most, but not all of the Newbery Medal Winners and Honors Books. The lists on these pages only contain the Newbery Books that TCU owns. Hover over the Newbery tab to find Newbery Award winners and Honor Books for each decade. View a complete list of Newbery Award winners

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Robyn Reid
she / her
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Librarian for: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Communication Studies, Education, Geography, History, Military Science, Political Science

2022 Newbery Books

The Last Cuentista

Newbery Medal, 2022

Red, White, and Whole

Newbery Honor Book, 2022

Too Bright to See

Newbery Honor Book, 2022
Stonewall Award, 2022

A Snake Falls to Earth

Newbery Honor Book, 2022


Caldecott Medal Winner, 2022
Newbery Honor Book, 2022

About the Newbery Award

"The Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the American Library Association for the most distinguished American children's book published the previous year. On June 22, 1921, Frederic G. Melcher proposed the award to the American Library Association meeting of the Children's Librarians' Section and suggested that it be named for the eighteenth-century English bookseller John Newbery. The idea was enthusiastically accepted by the children's librarians, and Melcher's official proposal was approved by the ALA Executive Board in 1922. In Melcher's formal agreement with the board, the purpose of the Newbery Medal was stated as follows: "To encourage original creative work in the field of books for children. To emphasize to the public that contributions to the literature for children deserve similar recognition to poetry, plays, or novels. To give those librarians, who make it their life work to serve children's reading interests, an opportunity to encourage good writing in this field."

The Newbery Award thus became the first children's book award in the world. Its terms, as well as its long history, continue to make it the best known and most discussed children's book award in this country."