LibGuides: Health Sciences PhD: Databases & Articles

Web of Science

Web of Science
Journal articles, conference proceedings, patents, and more in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. A feature of Web of Science is the ability to see which articles have cited a given article. Coverage dates: 1864 - present

Evidence-Based Resources

Campbell Collaboration Library
An international research network that produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions.

Cochrane Library
Medical systematic reviews, clinical trials, research studies, clinical answers, and more. Types of reviews: intervention reviews, diagnostic test accuracy reviews, prognosis reviews, qualitative evidence syntheses, methodology reviews, overviews of reviews, rapid reviews, and prototype reviews. Coverage dates: 1996 - present

Joanna Briggs Institute Library
A repository for publications and information for policy makers, health professionals, health scientists in evidence based healthcare.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
Social Programs That Work
Identifies those social interventions shown in rigorous studies to produce sizable, sustained benefits to participants and/or society.

Health Sciences Databases

PHYSICAL HEALTH SCIENCES DATABASES:

SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, ebooks, conference proceedings, and magazine articles in the fields of sports medicine, athletic training, coaching and education, orthopedics, exercise physiology, biomechanics, sports psychology, sports nutrition, and more. Coverage dates: 1985 - present
Extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health and sport studies. Subject include: sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, sports psychology, training, nutrition and coaching, and many more. Limited to 4 users at once. Coverage dates: 1985 - Current.
ComDisDome (Communication Sciences and Disorders Dome) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, ebooks, dissertations, and grants focusing on the fields of speech-language pathology and audiology. An indexing and abstracting database (not full-text) with subject areas that include augmentative and alternative communication, communication mechanism and systems, electroneuronography, pediatric audiology, and more. Coverage dates: 1950 - present

SOCIAL HEALTH SCIENCES DATABASES:

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journal articles for topics in anthropology, criminal justice, social work, and sociology. Coverage dates: 1895 - present
PsycInfo (APA PsycInfo) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, ebooks, videos, technical reports, and dissertations covering all aspects of global behavioural and social sciences research. Coverage dates: 1887 – present

NURSING AND NURSE ANESTHESIA DATABASES:

EMBASE and EMBASE Classic
A biomedical database that focuses on drugs, pharmacology, medical devices, and clinical medicine. EMTREE is an index of subject headings (similar to PubMed's MeSH). Population, Intervention, Comparator, & Outcome (PICO) search available. Coverage dates: 1947 - present

Grey Literature

What is grey literature? According to the NLM, it is literature "which is produced on all levels of government, academics, business and industry in print and electronic formats, but which is not controlled by commercial publishers."

A.k.a. unpublished materials.

Here is a research guide full of up-to-date and rich information about how to find grey literature:

Grey Literature

Last Ditch Effort Box

Off-Campus Access

You can search the library's catalog and browse the website 24/7. However, accessing databases, e-books and e-journal content from off-campus requires your TCU username and password.

Health Sciences PhD: Databases & Articles