Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
TCU Library eBooks
Art & Design Reference eBooks!
Biographical Dictionaries Online
Online full text of Grove Art Online and The Oxford Companion to Western Art. It is a reference and biographical resource for all aspects of worldwide visual arts from prehistory to the 1990s. Many articles have been updated since the original publication.
The Oxford Dictionary of Art
An authoritative one-volume guide to the art of the western world. Provides a careful balance of fact and critical appraisalranging across painting, sculpture, drawing, and the applied arts from classical times to the present. 3,500+ entries.
A Biographical Dictionary of Artists
Containing 1,340 illustrated articles. Provides an unparalleled guide to the figures who have dominated the visual art throughout the ages. International in scope and coverage, the book contains authoritative entries on non-Western artists as well as more familiar figures. Each article summarizes the development of an artist's style and important works against a background of relevant biographical information and assesses his or her lasting contribution to the arts.
Art History Reference Online
The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture
A comprehensive reference work in this complex and diverse area of art history. Built on the acclaimed scholarship of the Grove Dictionary of Art, this work offers over 1,600 up-to-date entries on Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Central and South Asia, Africa, and Europe and spans over a thousand years of history.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art
All aspects of Northern Renaissance art ranging from artists, architecture, and patrons to the cities and centers of production vital to the flourishing of art in this period. It offers fully updated articles and bibliography as well as more than 500 illustrations, maps,drawings, diagrams and color plates.
Art History Reference Online
The Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts
Covers thousands of years of decorative arts production throughout western and non-western culture. Over 1,000 entries, as well as hundreds drawn from the 34-volume Dictionary of Art.
A Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art
This unique and authoritative reference work contains more than 2,000 clear and concise entries on all aspects of modern and contemporary art. Its impressive range of terms includes movements, styles, techniques, artists, critics, dealers, schools, and galleries. There are biographical entries for artists worldwide from the beginning of the 20th century through to the beginning of the 21st.
Historical Dictionary of Rococo Art
The Rococo emerged in France around 1700 as a playful revolt against the grandeur of the Baroque and the solemnity of Classicism. The Historical Dictionary of Rococo Art covers all aspects of Rococo art history through a chronology, an introductory essay, a review of the literature, an extensive bibliography, and over 350 cross-referenced dictionary entries on prominent Rococo painters, sculptors, decorative artists, architects, patrons, theorists, and critics, as well as major centers of artistic production.
Dutch Art: an Encyclopedia
An illustrated feast for the eye and intellect DutchArt explores developments in art, art history, art criticism, and cultural history of the Netherlands from the artists' workshops for the Utrecht Dom in 1475 to the latest movements of the 1990s.
The Thames and Hudson Encyclopedia of British Art
Covers British Art through every period from the Anglo-Saxons to the present day, and every significant medium, from painting, sculpture and printmaking to medieval goldsmiths' work and stained glass. Includes up to date information on hundreds of artists, from Blake to Bacon and Constable to Kauffmann, and in-depth coverage of general topics such as schools, concepts, techniques, institutions, patronage and art criticism.