LibGuides: Theatre Scene and Costume Design: Costume Design

Research Databases

Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Current content from more than 300 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, and indexes documents such as biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, reviews and events. Coverage dates: 1864 - current.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
Articles, books, and book chapters on theatre and performing arts. Coverage dates: 1929 - present
Performance Design Archive Online
Covers all aspects of theater production design, from the 17th century to the present day, including scenic and set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, makeup, and more. Coverage dates: 1600 - present
Drama Online
Scholarly works and practical guides provide contextual and critical background for theatre. Also includes monologues and plays. Coverage dates: Ancient - present

Costume Design Databases

Berg Fashion Library
Research in fashion and dress; prehistory to present. Contains fashion runway photos and images from museums around the world. Coverage dates: 1966 - present
Performance Design Archive Online
Covers all aspects of theater production design, from the 17th century to the present day, including scenic and set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, makeup, and more. Coverage dates: 1600 - present

E-Resources

Elizabethan Costume Page
An excellent site for both amateur and professional costumers (and students), with sections on history, design and even construction techniques. A "Monthly Costume Feature" directs the reader to other excellent sites of interest.

Using the FrogScholar

To search for costume design in the FrogScholar for material on costumes, make sure you include the following:

1. The location you are researching.

2. The time period

3. The words costume or clothing.

For instance:

medieval AND France AND (costume OR clothing)

Renaissance AND England AND (costume and clothing)

Image Databases

Newspaper and periodical databases can often be used to obtain images of clothing, hairstyles, and cosmetic from different errors. Here are a few databases that can be used for that purpose.

Vogue Archive
Find images by garment type, designer and brand names. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out is included. Coverage dates: 1892 - present
Defining Gender
Primary sources that cover topics in gender studies, such as the family, education, and consumer culture. Coverage dates: 1450 - 1910
Everyday Life and Women in America 1800-1920
Images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. Coverage dates: 1800-1920
Life Magazine Archive
American magazine focused on story-telling through documentary photographs. Coverage dates: 1936 - 2000
Time Magazine Archive
Prominent American weekly newsmagazine, covering national and international current events, politics, sports, and entertainment. Coverage dates: 1923 - 2000
Women's Magazine Archive
An archival research resource comprising the full backfiles of leading women’s interest consumer magazines. Coverage dates: 1846 - 2005
Artstor via JSTOR
The Artstor Digital Library provides more than one million images with tools for teaching and research. Its collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates from all over the world.

Humanities & Theatre

Ammie E. Harrison

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Mary Couts Burnett Library
TCU Box 298400
Fort Worth, TX 76129

(817) 257-5338

Subjects: Citation Tools, English Literature and Composition, Film, TV & Digital Media, Library Basics, Modern Language Studies, Reference, Spanish & Hispanic Studies, Theatre, Women and Gender Studies, Writing