Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Grey Literature: Dissertations & Theses

What is grey literature? How do I find Grey Literature?

Dissertations & Theses

Dissertations and Theses are considered grey literature. These resources can be found in many different places: Databases, websites, catalogs and WorldCat (combination of catalog/database). 

Dissertations and Theses Resources:

American Doctoral Dissertations

The database includes more than 153,000 theses and dissertations in total, including 70,000 new citations for theses and dissertations. The new citations include a link to access the full text, when available, via the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed.

Dart Europe

DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses.

Electronic Theses & Dissertations Center (ETD)

The ETD Center is a free, online database of Ohio's undergraduate, masters and doctoral theses and dissertations from participating OhioLINK member schools. It contains the abstract for all included theses and dissertations. The full-text is also available if it was submitted.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations

Started by Virginia Tech University, this is a global database of over 750,000 ETDs (electronic theses and dissertations).

Open Access Theses & Dissertations

OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 3,897,764 theses and dissertations.

PQDT Open

PQDT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge.

You can quickly and easily locate dissertations and theses relevant to your discipline, and view the complete text in PDF format.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global searches millions of dissertations and theses from around the world, and has over one million dissertations in full text.

TCU Electronic Theses and Dissertations

Searchable Collections from the TCU Community.

WorldCat

OCLC's WorldCat lists dissertations for most colleges and universities in the United States and Canada and a great many from around the world. 

The free version of WorldCat can be found here.