Skip to main content

Core Documents of Our Democracy: Databases

The resources found in this guide are vital sources of information that support the public's right to know about the workings and essential activities of the Federal Government.

Databases offered at TCU

Archive Finder Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
A current directory describing over 220,000 collections of primary source material housed in repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom, and Ireland. Limited to 4 users at once.
 
ArchiveGrid Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff. Available to Clark Society members.
An important destination for searching for historical documents, personal papers and family histories held in archives throughout the world. It provides access to detailed archival collection descriptions. It includes nearly a million descriptions of archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives worldwide. Coverage dates: Renaissance - 20th century.
 
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index with Full Text Links Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff. Available to Clark Society members.
Index of books, periodicals, government documents, and newspaper articles published in the 19th century. The acquisition of this database was made possible by a gift from the Friends of the TCU Library. Coverage dates: 1801 - 1900.
 
CenStats (Census Data) Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff. Available to Clark Society members. Available to all patrons.
Access the following Census data: Annual Survey of Manufacturers, Census Tract Street Locator, County Business Patterns, Detailed Occupation by Race and Sex, ZIP Code Business Patterns, Building Permits, Consolidated Federal Funds Report, International Trade Data, and USA Counties (demographic and economic data). Coverage dates: 1990.
 
Census 2010 Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff. Available to Clark Society members. Available to all patrons.
Contains census data from the 2010 Decennial Census of the United States Coverage dates: 2010.
 
Congressional Hearings (ProQuest) Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
ProQuest Congressional hearings Part A provides full text to every published and unpublished Congressional hearing from 1824 through 1979. Coverage dates: 1824-1979.
 
Congressional Publications (ProQuest) Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Contains full-text for congressional hearings, public issues, legislation, and history. Coverage dates: 1789 - Current.
 
Congressional Research Digital Collection Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff. Available to Clark Society members.
Provides access to congressional committee prints and Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports. Coverage dates: 1830 - Current.
 
CQ Almanac Online Edition Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff. Available to Clark Society members.
Original narritive accounts of major legislation considered by lawmakers during congressional sessions. Coverage dates: 1945 - Current.
 
CQ Weekly Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff. Available to Clark Society members.
Covers the status of current legislative issues including bills and amendments in Congress, committee and floor activity, as well as debates and roll-call votes. Coverage dates: 1983 - Current.
 
Data.gov Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff. Available to Clark Society members. Available to all patrons.
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data.
 
ERIC Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff. Available to Clark Society members. Available to all patrons.
Provided by the U.S. Department of Education. Contains articles and reports regarding all aspects of education. Coverage dates: 1966 - Current.
 
Federal Register Online Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff. Available to Clark Society members. Available to all patrons.
An official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. Coverage dates: 1994 - Current.
 
Government Periodicals Index (ProQuest) Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Index of periodicals produced by various government agencies. Coverage dates: 1989 - Current.
 
HathiTrust Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
This digital collection includes books and primary source documents from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, and libraries around the world. Coverage dates: Varies.
 
HeinOnline Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Fully searchable PDF image-based government documents and legal research materials. Coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials and 2,300+ scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and the full text of state and federal case law. Coverage dates: Late 18th century to present.
 
Historical Statistics of the United States Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff. Available to Clark Society members.
Statistical data representing United States history. Coverage dates: 1790 - 2000.
 
Lexis Nexis Academic Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Provides news articles for financial, medical, and legal information. Transcripts and wire services are also available. Other special features include: Company Profiles, SEC filings, Biographies, Country Information, Federal and State Cases, Patents, Broadcast Transcripts, and more. Coverage dates: Varies.
 
MetaLib | GPO Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff. Available to Clark Society members. Available to all patrons.
MetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.
 
ProQuest Statistical Insight Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff. Available to Clark Society members.
Contains Statistical data from government and international organizations. Includes statistics for popular topics such as human trafficking, identity theft, housing prices, and more. Coverage dates: 1973 - Current.
 
Rotunda Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Contains primary source documents relevant to the drafting of the United States Constitution and early presidential papers. Coverage dates: Late 18th - early 19th century, 20th century.
 
U.S. Congressional Serial Set (ProQuest) Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
U.S. Government publications including Congressional reports, documents, executive agency reports, departmental reports, and legislative reports, all published under the directive of Congress. The acquisition of this database was made possible by a gift from Dr. Paul Boller. Coverage dates: 1789 - 1969; 2004 - Current.