Skip to Main Content
TCU home page
Ask a Librarian

Core Documents of Our Democracy: Congressional Directory

The resources found in this guide are vital sources of information that support the public's right to know about the workings and essential activities of the Federal Government.

General Information

Image of an eagle and links to the Congressional Directory on the govinfo site

Congressional Directory

The Congressional Directory is the official directory of the U.S. Congress, prepared by the Joint Committee on Printing (JCP). It presents:

  • Short biographies of each member of the Senate and House, listed by state or district.
  • Committee memberships, terms of service, administrative assistants and/or secretaries, and room and telephone numbers for Members of Congress.
  • Lists officials of the courts, military establishments, and other Federal departments and agencies, including D.C. government officials, governors of states and territories, foreign diplomats, and members of the press, radio, and television galleries.

According to the U.S. Code (44 USC 721), the Congressional Directory is made available during the first session of each new Congress. Subsequent to delivery of the printed 1997-1998 Congressional Directory, the JCP established the practice of producing periodic online interim issues to ensure the public's economical access to current Congressional information.

The frequency of these online revisions will be determined by the volume of changes submitted for incorporation. No printed counterpart will exist for these online publication revisions.

This site contains directories for the 104th (1995-96) Congress forward, as well all Interim editions (online-only revisions) for the 105th Congress forward. Documents are available as ASCII text and Adobe Portable Document Format (PDF) files.

The SuDoc classification number is Y 4.P 93/1:1/
This resource is available in PRINT and ONLINE

Print Version