LibGuides: Presidential Power: Useful References

Presidential Documents

The GPO has created a guide that provides documents and links to documents about the office of the President of the United States of America.

25th Amendment (Presidential Succession)

Text from Legal Information Institute. Links to Congressional Research Service annotated Constitution.

Twenty-Fifth Amendment Archive (Fordham Law)

"Many of the items in the Archive tell the extraordinary story of Amendment’s drafting and ratification, while other material illuminates unresolved issues in the nation’s presidential succession system. Indeed, the Archive provides the resources to learn from the Amendment’s drafting and invocations and to inform future efforts to fulfill the Amendment’s core purpose of ensuring the stability and continuity of the presidency."

The Twenty-fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution: A Reader's Guide

by Yale Law School Rule of Law Clinic, April 2018.

Blog Post, Just Security (April 18, 2018)

New Releases on Whitehouse.gov

Pardon Power

Pardon Power
Blog maintained by a political science professor. Posts can be sorted by president, state, and other categories.
DOJ Office of the Pardon Attorney
"For over 100 years, the President has relied on the Department of Justice, and particularly the Office of the Pardon Attorney, for assistance in the exercise of the executive clemency power granted to the President by Article II, Section 2 of the Constitution."

Impeachment

Impeachment of a U.S. President [UW Libraries]

Resource page lists variety of sources.

Jared P. Cole & Todd Garvey, Cong. Research Serv., R44260, Impeachment and Removal (2015)

Alex Gendler, How Does Impeachment Work?, Ted-Ed

Elections

Special Prosecutors

Sam Williams, The History and Law of Special Counsel, Gallagher Blogs (Aug. 14, 2017)

Valuable Links

Core Documents of Our Democracy
TCU research guide providing American citizens with direct online access to the basic Federal Government documents that define our democratic society. These titles contain information about the democratic process that are critical to informed citizens. They support the public's right to know about the essential activities of their Government.
GovInfo
Free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Coverage dates: 1993 - present
Office of the Federal Register
Publishes federal agency regulations.
Regulations.gov
Proposed rules and regulations from federal agencies that are open for public comment.
How to Use Regulations.gov
FAQs
United States Government Manual
Includes brief descriptions of agencies, organizational charts.

Congress

Congress.gov

Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service.

House of Representatives

The House Explained includes information about branches of government, legislative process, committees, rules
Kids in the House has information for children and teachers. If you want a quick overview, read the material for high school students.

United States Senate

House Oversight Tracker [Brookings Institution] For 116th Congress (Jan. 2019–Dec. 2020), lists House Committee hearings and letters to the Administration on various oversight topics, such as Government Operations and Ethics; Energy and Environment; and Criminal Justice and Rule of Law.

Todd Garvey & Daniel J. Sheffner, Cong. Research Serv., R45442, Congress’s Authority to Influence and Control Executive Branch Agencies (2018)

Federal Agencies

United States Government Manual
Includes brief descriptions of agencies, organizational charts.
Office of the Federal Register
Publishes federal agency regulations.
Regulations.gov
Proposed rules and regulations from federal agencies that are open for public comment.
How to Use Regulations.gov
FAQs

U.S. Administrative Law Research

Gallagher Law Library research guide.

Deregulatory Tracker [Brookings Institution]

The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit organization based in Washington, D.C. whose mission is to conduct in-depth, nonpartisan research to improve policy and governance at local, national, and global levels

Administrative Law Basics

What Is Administrative Law? Short video from UW Tech Policy Lab.

Notice & Comment Procedure: A Critical Oversight Tool
American Constitution Society webinar (52 min.), Sept. 19, 2017. Audio with PowerPoint slides.
"On September 19, ACS hosted a webinar on notice and comment procedure. Whether you care about environmental regulations, conditions for millions of workers across the country, financial controls, or any number of regulatory issues, this valuable training seminar covers the basics of the process that underlies all regulatory action with two seasoned experts. Notice and comment is a key oversight tool for agency activity, particularly in the current political environment, and it's also a great way to develop knowledge in a particular area of the law. Whether you are an experienced practitioner or a law student still developing your experience, you can participate in notice and comment procedure to bring about change."

Maeve P. Carey, Cong. Research Serv., IF10003, An Overview of Federal Regulations and the Rulemaking Process (2019)

Presidential Power: Useful References

The Presidency

U.S. Presidential Documents