Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journals and Databases
- Check out Journals and Evidence-Based Resources to stay up-to-date with what is happening in the field.
- Search Databases for full-text articles, book chapters, conference papers, etc. by keywords.
Journals & Evidence-Based Resources
Journal of Health & Social Policy
Articles on health, social policy issues, policy formation and implementation aimed at professionals in the health care and social work fields.
Social Programs That Work
Identifies those social interventions shown in rigorous studies to produce sizable, sustained benefits to participants and/or society.
Journal of Social Research & Policy
This journal aims to host primarily articles based on policy research and methodological approaches of policy topics.
American Journal of Public Health
Articles of original research, research methods, program evaluations, analytic reviews, including health policy analysis and reports on health policy. Coverage: 1971-present
Campbell Collaboration Library
An international research network that produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions.
Social Work Databases
POLICIES, LEGAL AND LEGISLATIVE STUFF:
Health Policy Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, ebooks, magazines, and trade publications covering all aspects of health policy to support decision-making, planning, and research in a variety of healthcare system areas. Coverage dates: Current
Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Reports from hundreds of active think tanks, research organizations, and advocacy groups about current research on public policy issues. Includes in-depth coverage of U.S. domestic policy organizations. Coverage dates: Current
In-depth description and analysis of current and controversial issues, excellent background reports, viewpoints from different sides of each issue.
Status of current legislative issues including bills and amendments in Congress, committee and floor activity, as well as debates and roll-call votes. Coverage dates: 1983 - present
Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Articles about current issues and events. Each topic is presented with points of view (pros and cons) from each side of the issue. Coverage dates: 1995 - present
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journal articles for topics in anthropology, criminal justice, social work, and sociology. Coverage dates: 1895 - present
Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. FSSW covers popular issues as well as meeting the requirements of professionals in all fields of social work, social science and family practice. Coverage dates: 1970 to present.
GENDER AND ETHNIC STUDIES DATABASES:
Newspapers, magazines, journals, and newsletters from various ethnic, minority, and native presses. Coverage dates: 1959 to present
Articles focus on the historical and current perspectives of the evolution of gender roles. Database has academic, gray, and popular literature. Subjects include gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender studies, family studies, gender studies, and women's studies. Coverage dates: 1970 - present
YOU CAN ALSO CHECK THESE DATABASES:
Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
Questions and responses to public opinion polls on breaking-news events and pressing social issues of the day. Comprehensive international and U.S. coverage.
HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable PDF image-based, government document and legal research database.
PsycInfo (APA PsycInfo) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, ebooks, videos, technical reports, and dissertations covering all aspects of global behavioural and social sciences research. Coverage dates: 1887 – present
ERIC - EBSCO
Articles and reports about education from the U.S. Department of Education. Coverage dates: 1966 - present
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
Scholarly and peer-reviewed articles for topics in criminal justice. Coverage dates: 1968 - present