Research Help - NTDT 30313 - Food Systems Management - LibGuides at Texas Christian University

Class Handouts

AMA 11th
Quick guide on how to cite your sources in AMA style (references and in-text).
APA 7th
Quick guide on how to cite your sources using APA style.
Annotated Bibliography How-To
Use this as a guide to write your annotated bibliography.

All Things Research

AMA logo

The online AMA Manual of Style has a streamlined interface, intuitive search and browse, and personalization features, so finding what you need in the Manual is easier than ever. The manual is a must-have guide for anyone involved in medical and scientific publishing.

NLM Journal Title Abbreviations

Each journal title indexed by NLM is assigned a unique title abbreviation. Use this site to search by journal title. Existing title abbreviations are not changed to conform to current policies and procedures.

APA Style

On this site, you will find tutorials, FAQs, and other resources to help you improve your writing, master APA Style, and learn the conventions of scholarly publishing.

The Purdue OWL: APA Style

These OWL resources will help you learn how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation and format style. This section contains resources on in-text citation and the References page, as well as APA sample papers, slide presentations, and the APA classroom poster.

RefWorks

TCU Library subscribes to RefWorks, which is software to manage footnotes, endnotes, citations, bibliographies, and works cited lists for papers. It allows users to create personal databases of references and citations. References are quickly and easily imported from text files or online databases. Once you set up your account, check out all the tutorials on how to use it.

EndNote

EndNote is a reference management software package used to manage bibliographies, references, and citations on your own computer. Click on the link, log in with your TCU username and password, follow downloading and installation instructions. Check out helpful tutorials.

Use Boolean Operators to combine your keyword (when using the databases. It also works great when using Google) :

AND - narrows the search

OR - broadens the search

NOT - first term is searched, then results with second term are eliminated

Use Truncation (*) to broaden your search and include various word endings and spellings.

Examples:

child* = child, children, childhood, childlike, childish
health* = health, healthy, healthcare

Always evaluate your sources (online or in print) for CRAAP :

Currency
- When was the information published? Is it current? Up-to-date?
Relevance
- Does the information relate to your topic? Who is the intended audience?
Authority
- What are the author's credentials? Organizational affiliations? Is the author qualified to write on this topic?
Accuracy
- Is the information supported by evidence? Can you verify it from another source? Are there typos, spelling, grammatical errors?
Purpose
- Is the information fact, opinion, propaganda? Does the author make his/her intentions/purpose clear?