LibGuides: Public Health Nursing: Evidence Based Practice

What is a Systematic Review

A sytematic review (SR) is a well structured review of literature that focuses on a specific topic while adhering to strict standards. A well constructed SR identifies, selects, assesses and synthesis relevant bodies of research in a tightly structured manner. The goal of the SR is to answer a predertermined specific clinical question (PICO) based on all available information and data and present this answer in a balance and unbiased conclsion. It is essential the SR be transparent, non-biased, duplicatable and clear in the final report. SRs must also be "objective, scientifically valid, and consistent."

PICO

PICO Worksheet and Search Strategy Protocol

P	I	C	O
Patient, Population, or Problem	Intervention	Comparison	Outcome
What are the characteristics of the patient or population	What do you want to do with this patient (e.g. treat, diagnose, observe)?	What is the alternative to the intervention (e.g. placebo, different drug, surgery)?	What are the relevant outcomes (e.g. morbidity, death, complications)?

Data Management

RefWorks is a citation management software that is free to TCU students, faculty and staff. With RefWorks, you can: import references directly from multiple databases; organize and manage references; and format bibliographies and manuscripts.

Data Extraction Tools

AHRQ's Systematic Review Data Repository The Systematic Review Data Repository (SRDR) is a powerful and easy-to-use tool for the extraction and management of data for systematic review or meta-analysis. It is also an open and searchable archive of systematic reviews and their data.

DistilerSR DistillerSR is an online application designed specifically for the screening and data extraction phases of a systematic review. Subscription Fee. Additional technical information at: http://www.tectutorials.com/TERDistillerSR.htm

Fundamentals of Systematic Reviews

Step 1: Initiate the process (develop PICO), organize your team, develop a search strategy that minimizes bias and conflict of interests

Step 2: Develop the process for literature review: procedures, keywords

Step 3: Locate and screen studies for review as per agreed upon procedure

Step 4: Appraise any bias or conflict of interest in the studies and extract the data for analysis

Step 5: Summarize findings and asses body of evidence

Step 6: Prepare final report and proceed with peer review.

Reference: Eden, J.; Levit, L.; Berg, A.; & Morton, S. (Eds.) (2015). Finding what worked in health care: Standards for systematic reviews. Washington D.C.: The National Academies Press. Retrieved from http://www.nap.edu/openbook.php?record_id=13059&page=R1

Systematic Review Databases

Campbell Collaboration
The Campbell Collaboration is an international research network that produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions in Crime & Justice, Education, International Development, and Social Welfare.
Cocharane Database of Systematic Reviews
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading resource for systematic reviews in health care. The CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews (the systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials. The CDSR also has occasional supplements. The CDSR is updated regularly as Cochrane Reviews are published ‘when ready’ and form monthly issues; see publication schedule.
Database of promoting health effectiveness reviews (DoPHER)
DoPHER is unique in its focused coverage of systematic and non-systematic reviews of effectiveness in health promotion and public health worldwide.

This register currently contains details of over 2,500 reviews of health promotion and public health effectiveness.

All reviews are assessed and coded for specific characteristics of health focus, population group and quality. They have been systematically key worded with:
generic keywords (e.g. health focus and population group),
keywords concerning review quality (aims, search, inclusion criteria, quality assessment methods, data extraction methods and analysis methods).
Joanna Briggs Institute
An international collaboration involving nursing, medical and allied health researchers, clinicians, academics and quality managers across 40 countries in every continent. UC Davis does not have a subscription, but some content is freely available.
Evidence for Policy and Practice Information and Co-ordinating Center (EPPI -Centre)
(EPPI-Centre) is part of the Social Science Research Unit at the Institute of Education, University of London. EPPI develops systematic reviews and developing review methods in social science and public policy.