Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Public Health Nursing Practice Guidelines
American College of Emergency Physicians
The American College of Emergency Physicians promotes the highest quality of emergency care and is the leading advocate for emergency physicians, their patients, and the public.
American Heart Association (AHA) CPR and Emergency Cardiovascular Care (ECC)
Stay up to date on CPR & First Aid! Get information on the science of CPR and ECC, find instructors and training center, buy products, and manage your eCard.
Center for Disease Control Guidelines (CDC)
Informs users of research, basic information, data & statistics, articles, recommendations, education & training, free materials and multimedia & tools in close to 500 million page views on this site.
About the Toolbox
The Community Tool Box is a free, online resource for those working to build healthier communities and bring about social change. It offers thousands of pages of tips and tools for taking action in communities.
Want to learn about community assessment, planning, intervention, evaluation, advocacy, and other aspects of community practice? Then help yourself to over 300 educational modules and other free tools.
Under continuous development since 1994, the Community Tool Box is widely used in teaching, training, and technical support. Currently available in English, Spanish, and Arabic and with millions of user sessions annually, it has reached those working in over 230 countries around the world.
Evidence Reports (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality - AHRQ)
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality’s (AHRQ) mission is to produce evidence to make health care safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable, and affordable, and work within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and with other partners to make sure that the evidence is understood and used.
Health Services/ Technology Assessment Texts
Free, Web-based resource of full-text documents that provide health information and support health-care decision making.
Infectious Disease Society of America (IDSA)
The Infectious Diseases Society of America (IDSA) represents physicians, scientists and other health care professionals who specialize in infectious diseases. IDSA’s purpose is to improve the health of individuals, communities, and society by promoting excellence in patient care, education, research, public health, and prevention relating to infectious diseases.
National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN)
The National Comprehensive Cancer Network® (NCCN®) is an alliance of 25 of the world's leading cancer centers, working together to develop treatment guidelines for most cancers, and dedicated to research that improves the quality, effectiveness, and efficiency of cancer care. NCCN offers a number of programs to give clinicians access to tools and knowledge that can help guide decision-making in the management of cancer.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
NGC is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)
NICE guidance contains systematically-developed recommendations, based on the best available evidence, to guide decisions for a particular area of health, public health or social care.
National Prevention Strategy
The National Prevention Strategy, released June 16, 2011, aims to guide our nation in the most effective and achievable means for improving health and well-being. The Strategy prioritizes prevention by integrating recommendations and actions across multiple settings to improve health and save lives.
National Prevention Strategy Implementation Toolkit
ASTHO is the national nonprofit organization representing public health agencies in the United States, the U.S. Territories, and the District of Columbia, and over 100,000 public health professionals these agencies employ. ASTHO members, the chief health officials of these jurisdictions, formulate and influence sound public health policy and ensure excellence in state-based public health practice. ASTHO's primary function is to track, evaluate, and advise members on the impact and formation of public or private health policy which may affect them and to provide them with guidance and technical assistance on improving the nation's health.
U.S. Preventive Services Task Force
Created in 1984, the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force is an independent, volunteer panel of national experts in prevention and evidence-based medicine. The Task Force works to improve the health of all Americans by making evidence-based recommendations about clinical preventive services such as screenings, counseling services, and preventive medications. Tools for primary care providers and resource for education of health professionals.
Veterans Affairs (VA) Clinical Practice Guidelines
VHA, in collaborations with the Department of Defense (DoD) and other leading professional organizations, has been developing clinical practice guidelines since the early 1990s. In 2010 the Institute of Medicine identified VA/DoD as leaders in clinical practice guideline development.
Community Health Improvement Navigator
Community Health Improvement Navigator
Community health improvement (CHI) is a process to identify and address the health needs of communities.
It is a collaborative website for people who lead or participate in CHI work within hospitals and health systems, public health agencies, and other community organizations. This tool is a one-stop-shop that offers community stakeholders expert-vetted tools and resources for improving community health, advocating for collaborative approaches, establishing and maintaining collaborations, and finding interventions that work.
CHI NAV: Database of Interventions
The CDC Community Health Improvement Navigator (CHI Navigator) Database of Interventions is a tool that helps you identify interventions that work in four action areas—socioeconomic factors, physical environment, health behaviors, and clinical care. It provides leaders and stakeholders with options to consider when making decisions about how to invest in their community and address its health needs. As you use the Database, you may notice housing, education, and transportation interventions appearing when you filter results for tobacco use, unhealthy diet, high blood pressure, obesity, physical inactivity, and diabetes.
County Health Rankings & Roadmaps
The annual County Health Rankings measure vital health factors, including high school graduation rates, obesity, smoking, unemployment, access to healthy foods, the quality of air and water, income, and teen births in nearly every county in America. The annual Rankings provide a revealing snapshot of how health is influenced by where we live, learn, work and play. They provide a starting point for change in communities. That is why we also provide the Roadmaps that provide guidance and tools to understand the data, and strategies that communities can use to move from education to action. The Roadmaps are helping communities bring people together from all walks of life to look at the many factors that influence health, focus on strategies that we know work, learn from each other, and make changes that will have a lasting impact on health.
Environmental Health for Nurses
The Alliance of Nurses for Healthy Environments (ANHE) is delighted to announce the publication of Environmental Health in Nursing an open access textbook for nurses and other health professionals. Leading environmental health nursing experts have joined together to share their environmental health knowledge, expertise and experiences. The book offers essential information for nurses new to the topics as well as those with advanced environmental health experience. What is so exciting about this book is that our electronic format provides direct links to authoritative resources such as the EPA, ToxNet and WHO. In addition it provides ease of accessing information because of the electronic search features. We want this to be a living document and we welcome ideas for new topics and potential authors in subsequent editions.