Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
On This Page...
Click the links to go straight to the box for information.
Seven Search Strategies
Tips on how to use tricks in the databases
Databases that have a wide variety of information on different subjects. If you are having trouble finding resources, try these databases.
Info & Opinions
Need basic information or the major arguments on a topic? Try these databases.
Seven Search Strategies for Databases and the Catalog
AND : Use AND to look for two terms at the same time: Globalization AND Employment→will locate resources containing both terms.
OR: Use OR to look for closely related terms: Gender OR Woman→will look for both, but they do not have to be present in the same resources (this broadens your search).
* (SHIFT + 8): * is usually used at the end of a word that may vary: Nation*→will give you national, nationality, nationhood, and nationalism.
Using quotes when looking for a phrase: "global economy" or "national identity"
Before searching, make a general list of synonyms for search terms. When one search term does not work, you can substitute another term
For most databases, start with a simple search, using 2 or 3 terms.
"Don't invent the wheel if someone hands you the keys to a Porshe!"→Rely on the subject headings and/or bibliography of a work to find other sources.
Academic Search Ultimate
Includes the full text of 5,500 journals. More than 4,000 of the journals are peer-reviewed.
This database consists of full text journal articles from a wide variety of subject areas.
OmniFile Full Text Select
Full text of articles from approximately 2,700 publications, many of them peer-reviewed, from a number of disciplines.
Info and Opinions
Above, I listed the databases you should begin with in searching for information on your paper. Below, are the databases that provide you with pros and cons for your arguments and articles that take particular sides of an issue.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Topics presented with points of view (pros and cons) from each side of the issue.
In-depth analysis about current and controversial issues, including viewpoints from different sides of each issue.
Humanities & Theatre
Subjects: Citation Tools
, English Literature and Composition
, Film, TV & Digital Media
, Library Basics
, Modern Language Studies
, Spanish & Hispanic Studies
, Women and Gender Studies