Here are some books and e-books that are available for check-out at the Library. Hover over the 
icon to get more information about their content. To access e-books, click on the title, scroll to the bottom of the page: Direct link will be in the "Location" box.
Every item in the Mary Couts Burnett Library has a unique call number, the Library of Congress (LC) Classification number. A call number is simply an address for a book or other material in the library. No two items will have exactly the same call number. The following are the primary call numbers for Social Work:
| H 1 - 99 | Social Sciences (General) |
| HA 1 - 4737 | Statistics |
| HM 1 - 299 | Sociology, Social Psychology |
| HN 1 - 991 | Social History, Social Problems, |
| Social Reform | |
| HQ 1 - 2044 | The Family, Marriage, Women |
| HT 51 - 1595 | Communities, Classes, Race |
| HV 40 - 69 | Social Service, Social Work, Charity |
| HV 697 - 4959 | Protection, Assistance and Relief |
Check out the library maps to find specific sections and call numbers!
From Trauma to Resiliency by
From Trauma to Resiliency integrates research and practice of trauma-informed care, reviewing the neuroscience of trauma and highlighting relationship-based interventions for diverse populations that have faced multiple traumas. Chapters explore the experiences of oppressed groups that include survivors of abuse, war, poverty, Indigenous youth, Middle Eastern refugee mothers, individuals who identify as sexual and/or gender minorities (SGM), and children and youth involved in child welfare, foster care, and juvenile justice systems. In each chapter, contributors provide strengths-based, trauma-informed strategies that can be used in clinical settings, school-based programs, and in urban communities where food insecurity, limited access to health services, and community violence are prevalent. Professionals and students in counseling, social work, psychology, child welfare, education, and other programs will come away from the book with culturally affirming, trauma-informed interventions and models of care that promote well-being and resilience.
Social Work Practice for Social Justice by
"An invitation and challenge to students and practitioners to tackle the personal and institutional obstacles preventing the social work profession from realizing its mandate to promote social justice. Systemic racism is centered as the foundation of oppression of our country to provide the gateway for understanding and dismantling all other systems of oppression. Garcia and Van Soest probe essential questions about how social justice theories, institutional policies, and deep-seated personal and societal belief systems function to rationalize and support oppression, and they provide numerous exercises as a guide to increased awareness, understanding, and anti-oppression action" -- back cover.
Political Ideology and Social Work by
Social workers encounter politically fraught issues in many aspects of their professional lives. They must make decisions that touch on topics such as abortion, family planning, end-of-life care, immigration rights, economic assistance, and racial inequality, among many others. How do personal political beliefs influence social workers' education and training, practice with clients and communities, and efforts to achieve social change? Mitchell Rosenwald provides a comprehensive examination of the role of politics in the social work profession. He discusses how political ideology relates to social work education and practice at all levels, identifying and analyzing the strands of thought that have shaped the profession's history up to the present day. This book examines how social workers strive to balance their personal views with the professional obligation to provide therapy, case management, and information and referral to their clients. It explores how the social work profession struggles to encourage and support political diversity among its members and what happens when an individual's political beliefs challenge commonly held attitudes. Considering both clinical and policy work, Political Ideology and Social Work also offers recommendations for encouraging political reconciliation in order to strengthen the profession.
The SAGE Handbook of Decision Making, Assessment and Risk in Social Work by
The SAGE Handbook on Decision Making, Assessment and Risk in Social Work provides a comprehensive overview of key strands of research and theoretical concepts in this increasingly important field. With 49 chapters and four section summaries, this Handbook describes the 'state of the art'; discuss key debates and issues; and gives pointers on future directions for practice, research, teaching, management of services, and development of theoretical understandings. A key aim of this Handbook is to support the development of sound, applied knowledge and values to underpin reasoned professional judgement and decision making by social workers in practice and those in management and regulatory roles. With contributions from a global interdisciplinary body of leading and emerging scholars from a wide variety of roles, this handbook has been designed to be internationally generalisable and applicable to all major areas of social work. This Handbook provides a field-defining account of decision making, assessment and risk in social work which is unrivalled for its diversity and strength of coverage, and will be of value to social work researchers, teachers and practitioners, as well as to those in allied fields such as health care. Section 1: Professional Judgement Section 2: Assessment, Risk and Decision Processes Section 3: Assessment Tools and Approaches Section 4: Developing and Managing Practice Section 5: Concluding Section / Afterword
Mental Health and Social Work by
This book showcases current thinking on social work in the field of mental health and illness from a bio-ecological and spiritual framework reflecting the transition in mental health care from institution to community. The book presents a valuable tool for understanding theories on aetiology and social work interventions in mental health from varying socio-cultural, economic and political contexts. Topics covered include: the values and ethics of social work practice in mental health; psycho-social theories on mental health and illness, including psychological perspective and the structural/ social development perspective; social work approaches in working with individuals, families and communities; contextualized social work practice in mental health with a specific population group or community; structural factors such as legal provision and financial challenges in mental health and illness; and new directions in social work and mental health.
Professional Practice in Child Protection and the Child's Right to Participate by
This book explains and discusses how a child's right to freedom of expression is upheld through practice and decision-making in Child Protection Services (CPS). Using the right to expression as stipulated in Article 12.2 of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child (CRC) as a point of departure, it explains what CPS practices should look like and how they must operate to uphold and enforce the rights of the child by providing "the opportunity to be heard" in any administrative practice. Current research literature documents extensively, and across countries, how either the voice of the child is not heard or, alternatively, the existence of a pro forma/tokenistic approach to listening to the child throughout CPS practices. Taking a three-fold approach, this book establishes a clearer connection between rights and professional practice according to Article 12 extrapolates how rights-based practice is achieved during CPS practices provides a comprehensive answer to the challenge of implementing Article 12.2 through policy and legislation. It will be of interest to all students, academic and professionals working within child protection including social workers, probation officers, health and social care workers, lawyers and teachers. The Open Access version of this book, available at www.taylorfrancis.com, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 license.
The Routledge Handbook of International Critical Social Work by
The Routledge Handbook of International Critical Social Work is a companion volume to the Routledge Handbook of Critical Social Work. It brings together world-leading scholars in the field to provide additional, in-depth and provocative consideration of alternative and progressive ways of thinking about social work. Critical social work is increasingly involved in a global conversation, and as a subfield of social work it is rapidly becoming an interdisciplinary field in its own right and promoting novel forms of political activism. The Handbook showcases the global influences and path-breaking ideas of critical social work and examines the different stances taken on important political and ethical issues. It provides the first complete survey of the vibrant field of critical social work in a rich international context. This definitive volume is one of the most comprehensive source books on crucial social work that is available on the international stage and an essential guide for anyone interested in the politics of social work.　 The Handbook is divided into sever sections - Thinking the Political - Politics and the Ruins of Neoliberalism - Negotiating the State: Resistance, Protest and Dissent - Race, Bordering Practices and Migrants - Post Colonialism, Subaltern and the Global South - Critical Feminism, Sexuality and Gender Politics - Posthumanism, Pandemics and Environment 　 The Handbook is comprised of 46 newly written chapters (and one reprint) which concentrate on differences between European and American contributions in this field as well as explicitly identifying the significance of critical social work in the context of Latin America. It provides a further vital trajectory of intellectual practice theory via interdisciplinary discussion of areas such as biopolitics, critical race theory, boundaries of gender and sexuality, queer studies, new conceptions of community, issues of public engagement, racism and Roma people, ecological feminism, environmental humanities and critical animal studies. The Handbook is an innovative and authoritative guide to theory and method as they relate to policy issues and practice and focus on the primary debates of today in social work from a critical perspective, and will be required reading for all students, academics and practitioners of social work and related professions.
COVID-19 Collaborations by
Epdf and ePUB available Open Access under CC BY NC ND licence.The COVID-19 pandemic affected everyone - but, for some, existing social inequalities were exacerbated, and this created a vital need for research.Researchers found themselves operating in a new and difficult context; they needed to act quickly and think collectively to embark on new research despite the constraints of the pandemic. This book presents the collaborative process of 14 research projects working together during COVID-19. It documents their findings and explains how researchers in the voluntary sector and academia responded methodologically, practically, and ethically to researching poverty and everyday life for families on low incomes during the pandemic.This book synthesises the challenges of researching during COVID-19 to improve future policy and practice.Also see 'A Year Like No Other: Family Life on a Low Income in COVID-19' to find out more about the lived experiences of low-income families during the pandemic.
Applying Strengths-Based Approaches in Social Work by
This textbook offers students and practitioners an accessible introduction to strengths-based approaches in Social Work and Social Care practice. Covering the theory and research in support of these approaches, and packed full of case studies, the book will allow readers to develop a critical understanding of how strengths-based approaches work, and how they can be successfully applied in order to improve outcomes for people with lived experience.Covering the five main models of strengths-based practice, the text presents international research and evidence on the efficacy of each approach, enabling students and practitioners to apply the benefits in their own social work practice. The guide features the perspectives of people with lived experience throughout and includes the following key learning features:* case studies of best practice;* points for practice: succinct tips for practitioners and students on practice placement;* further reading list and resources;* glossary.
