Images can be used for presentations and add value to your research. Frequently, the images are centered around current events. You can also see how people at the time interpreted and reproduced certain ideas.
The music databases can provide cultural information about a particular time period.
A number of newspaper databases provide scans of useful visual information.
Experiencing the Past
The TCU Library is fortunate to have several audiovisual databases that offer both archival and visual recordings. Newsreels, Associated Press images, and song and radio recordings are offered in the following databases.
Historical documentary videos for eras 1500 - 1999, from PBS, Documentary Educational Resources, BullFrog Films, the History Channel, and others, with original newsreels from 1929 - 1967. Coverage dates: 1894 - present
Images, videos, and print primary source materials documenting global social, political, and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. Emphases include rock and roll, counterculture, peace, and protest movements, but topics are wide-ranging. Coverage dates: 1950 - 1975
Collects, preserves, and makes accessible the personal accounts of American war veterans so that future generations may hear directly from veterans and better understand the realities of war.
The DPLA offers a single point of access to millions of items—photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more—from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States.
America at Work, America at Leisure: Motion Pictures from 1894-1915 consists of 150 motion pictures, 62 of which also appear in other online collections.
Audio music from America's past including Native Americans, immigrants, slaves, pioneers, civil rights, politics, Prohibition, Revolutionary and Civil Wars, anti-war protests and more. Coverage dates: Current
A neat feature of this database is that you can search by historical event. If you need a song from a particular time period or event like the Civil War, the Revolution, the Industrial Age, the Gold Rush, etc. it's easy to find!
The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives.
