Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Industry Statistics & Trends
Government websites are often good sources for industry statistics. Trade Associations also collect industry statistics. See S&P NetAdvantage industry reports for your industry. Look at the "Industry References" link for a list of trade associations.
Country Commercial Guides
Find out by country what business opportunities are hot for that region. Use the Table of Contents- don't read the whole report
Finding out the export opportunities by country may help you determine where to expand your business.
Global Trade Directory
Finding out who is trading what and where may help you determine where to expand your business.
What is an Industry?
An industry is a group of competitors who manufacture/produce/sell the same or similar products. Industries can be very narrowly or broadly defined based on who you are including as a competitor.
The U.S. government defines industries by NAICS (North American Industrical Classification System) codes. An industry being defined at a 2-digit NAICS code level is being defined at a broad level. An industry being defined at a 6-digit NAICS code level is being very narrowly defined.
The more narrowly (or specifically) you define your industry, the more challenging your research will be.
Domestic Analyst's Reports
You can find reliable industry reports in several of the library's databases. I'm listing these in my order of preference!
Click the info icon to get helpful hints for searching that particular database.
Provides in-depth Domestic Industry analysis.Coverage dates: Current. Hint: Click on the 'Industry Market Research' tab to begin your search. Then search by NAICS code or keyword
Contains Market Research Analyst reports. Heavily oriented towards consumer behavior within a specific market.
To create your sub account, use your TCU email and a memorable password of your choosing.
Keep your search very simple!
Check out the "report categories" link for more info
Business Source Complete
Contains Industry Reports by Datamonitor. See info icon for search tips.Search by keyword or NAICS code (usually 6 digit level). Type "united states" in second search box. After search, click on 'Industry Profiles' link on left side of page under Source Types box.
Global Analyst's Reports
Industry reports with an international focus! Again, click the info icon to get quick tips for searching that particular database.
Refer to the Industry Research guide for more information
To find your company's industry, look up your company in Hoover's Online. In the main box, scroll down to find your company's NAICS code.
If you are finding industry information in IBISWorld, just delete the last digit from the Hoover's NAICS code and plug it into IBISWorld.