Here are some books and e-books that are available for check-out at the Library. Hover over the 
icon to get more information about their content. To access e-books, click on the title, scroll to the bottom of the page: Direct link will be in the "Location" box.
Every item in the Mary Couts Burnett Library has a unique call number, the Library of Congress (LC) Classification number. A call number is simply an address for a book or other material in the library. No two items will have exactly the same call number. The following are the primary call numbers for Kinesiology:
| GV 1 - 1860 | Recreation, Leisure |
| GV 201 - 555 | Physical Education and Training |
| GV 557 - 1198 | Sports |
| GV 1199 - 1570 | Games and Amusements |
| QP 1 - 345 | Physiology (General) |
| RC 1200 - 1245 | Sports Medicine |
Check out the library maps to find specific sections and call numbers!
Manual of Structural Kinesiology by
Explains the process of human movement; human anatomy and its relation to movement. Identifies specific muscles and muscle groups and describes exercises for strengthening and developing those muscles.
Basic Biomechanics by
With balanced, integrated coverage of applied anatomy, mechanical principles, and relevant sport and daily living applications, this text introduces you to the basics of biomechanics.
Adaptive Sports Medicine by
This first-of-its-kind text provides a comprehensive presentation and review of the unique aspects of adaptive sports medicine and adaptive athletes, who are increasingly active and prominent, not only individually and in local leagues and organizations but also in larger settings like the Paralympics. Divided into thematic sections, part one covers the history and natural course of the care, policies and laws that have been developed over the years for persons with disabilities, as well as the biomechanics and technology of wheelchair sports and adaptive sports prostheses. The medical considerations of the adaptive athlete comprise part two, including injury epidemiology, emergent care, and surgical and rehabilitative considerations. Part three, by far the most extensive section, discusses specific wheelchair and adaptive sports, including adaptive running, cycling, water sports and throwing sports, wheelchair basketball, softball and rugby, as well as adaptive combative and extreme sports. Selected topics, including event planning, advocacy and controversies such as doping, are covered in part four. A comprehensive yet practical text, Adaptive Sports Medicine is a go-to resource and will be an invaluable reference for any sports medicine or primary medicine practitioner working with this unique population.
The Youth Athlete by
The Youth Athlete: A Practitioner's Guide to Providing Comprehensive Sports Medicine Care includes topics that provide the most comprehensive and holistic understanding of the youth athlete. The foundation of the book focuses on the growth and development of the athlete from child to adolescence, balancing their physical, mental and emotional needs. The middle sections expand on this foundation, concentrating on common injuries and illnesses as well as unique topics (e.g., Female, Athlete Triad, Sports Specialization). Final sections emphasize specific sports (e.g., Soccer, Basketball, eSports), allowing the reader to synthesize the previous information to assist with return to play decision-making. Written from a scientific perspective and incorporating evidence-based medicine into its content, this book is perfect for health care practitioners of varied specialties. The complete and comprehensive structure of the book will clearly distinguish it from all other textbooks on the market.
Biomechanics of Dance by
This book provides a detailed analysis of human movement, building from simple physical models to more complex analyses and biomechanical models, including forces internal to the body. The book integrates principles of Physics with the functioning of the nervous and musculoskeletal systems to understand how movement in general, and dance movements specifically, can be executed to enhance performance and reduce injury risk.
Principles of Sports Medicine and Kinesiology by
This volume introduces students and researchers to the science of human performance and health. It focuses on how a healthy human body works during exercise and how sports and physical activity promote health and performance, ranging from the cellular level to whole body perspectives. Coverage also includes exercise physiology, sports psychology, human anatomy and physiology, biomechanics, biokinetics, diet, the nature and pathology of sport injuries, and injury rehabilitation.
Netter's Sports Medicine by
With comprehensive, highly visual coverage designed for sports clinicians, team physicians, sports medicine fellows, primary care physicians, and other health care professionals who provide care to athletes and active individuals, Netter's Sports Medicine, 3rd Edition, is an ideal resource for everyday use. Editors include three past presidents of the American Medical Society for Sports Medicine, it includes contributions from world-renowned experts as well as a rich illustration program with many classic paintings by Frank H. Netter, MD. From Little League to professional sports, weekend warriors to Olympic champions, and backcountry mountainside to the Super Bowl field, this interdisciplinary reference is indispensable in the busy outpatient office, in the training room, on the sidelines, and in preparation for sports medicine board certification. More than 1,000 superb Netter graphics, tables, figures, pictures, diagnostic images, and other medical artwork highlight easy-to-read, bulleted text. New coverage of esports, as well as other key topics such as travel considerations for the athlete, EKG interpretation, cardiac disease, diagnostic imaging and ultrasound, injury prevention protocols, and mixed martial arts. Up-to-date information on nutritional supplements, eating disorders, sports and pharmacology for chronic conditions and behavioral medicine, and extreme and adventure sports. Designed for quick reference, with a logical organization by both topic and sport. Online features include downloadable patient education handouts, and handy links. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Clinical Kinesiology and Anatomy by
The 5th Edition of this classic kinesiology text continues the tradition of presenting a very complicated topic in a clear, simple, and easy-to-understand manner. Bite size sections and over 500 full color illustrations show how various anatomical systems are connected and help you identify and see the connection between common pathologies associated with certain anatomical structures. Also available: Kinesiology in Action Digital-only Instant Access Money-Saving Package: Clinical Kinesiology and Anatomy, 5th Edition + Kinesiology in Action (Access Card) Click here for a preview of the multimedia package that will help you apply your kinesiology content!
Gale Encyclopedia of Fitness by
Regular physical activity and proper nutrition remain the most highly recommended avenues to maintaining long-term health. Physical fitness has proven to help prevent, delay, or relieve certain diseases, both physical and mental, and provides benefits to people of all ages.
Food & Fitness: A Dictionary of Diet & Exercise by
This accessible dictionary is packed full of authoritative information on foods and drinks, types of diet, sports and activities, exercises, physiology, training methods, and calorie requirements. The new edition includes over 200 new entries covering advances in the science of health and diet such as genetic disposition and nutrigenomics, high-profile diets such as the five–two and palaeo, fitness tracking and technologies, and developments in food labelling and the psychology of diet and fitness.
With over seventy diagrams, many providing guidance on how to carry out certain exercises, and tables covering recommended dietary intakes, the composition of selected foods, and average energy expenditure for various activities and sports, this is an ideal quick reference for students of sports and nutrition, and for anyone interested in diet and fitness.
Encyclopedia of Exercise Anatomy by
Praise for Anatomy of Exercise: A Trainer's Inside Guide to Your Workout: "This book would be useful for anyone interested in enhancing their fitness routine as well as fitness instructors who want to visually show their customers the benefits of each exercise... recommended to medium-sized and large public libraries as well as high school and undergraduate collections." -- American Reference Books Annual The revolutionary series Anatomy of Exercise includes eight specialized titles that followed the first title, Anatomy of Exercise, each focusing on a specific sport or exercise program. Since the release of the first book, the titles in this innovative series have sold 250,000 copies in North America. Compiling content from all nine titles, Encyclopedia of Exercise Anatomy enables the reader to tailor a personalized and professional program that will meet specific needs. A runner can dip into yoga to improve his breathing; a muscle builder can shape her legs with cycling workouts; a gymnast can combine yoga with core stability and strength exercises, and a woman over 50 can design a program that fits into her busy life. Comprehensive and informative, this big compendium includes these standard features: Full-body anatomy illustrations, front and back Annotated full-color anatomical illustrations for all exercises Full-color photographs of exercises Visual identification of active and stabilizing muscles Concise step-by-step how-to instructions and guidance Level-of-difficulty modifications "Best For" information boxes Safety tips boxes Pre-designed workouts Visual index of exercises Glossary of anatomical terms. For anyone who works on their fitness routines, whether at a gym, health club or in a sport personally, professionally or academically, Encyclopedia of Exercise Anatomy is the ideal resource for a lifetime of healthy living. If not now, when?
Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology by
How do athletes overcome fears, slumps, mental blocks, or injuries? How do they deal with stress and anxiety, be it from competitors, teammates, audiences, parents, coaches, or themselves? What psychological techniques prove effective in mental training for peak performance, maintaining concentration, motivation, and competitive drive? How can an athlete enhance his or her commitment to a training regimen, or how might the average person better adhere to a program of fitness and exercise? Readers will find answers to these questions and more in the Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology. Features & Benefits: Entries explore the theory, research, and application of psychology as it relates to sport and fitness in a manner that is accessible and jargon-free to help readers better understand human behavior in sport and exercise settings. From personal factors to situational factors influencing performance to specific psychological techniques for enhancing performance, this work provides comprehensive coverage of the field via approximately 350 to 400 signed entries. Entries conclude with cross-references and suggestions for further readings to guide students further in their research journey. Available in print and online, this monumental work is edited by two leading figures in the field with a distinguished international Editorial Advisory Board to select and assign entries, ensuring authoritative content readers can trust. Key Themes: Career Transition Certification, Credentialing, and Roles of Sport and Exercise Psychologists Disability Emotion Exercise Health Group Dynamics History and Foundation Leadership Morality, Aggression, and Ethics in Sport Motivation Motor Control Perception and Cognition in Sport Personality and Psychological Characteristics in Sport Psychobiology Psychological Skills/Interventions Psychosociocultural Self-Concept/Self-Perceptions, and Identity Youth Sport
