Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journals and Databases
- Read Key Journals to stay up-to-date with what is happening in the field of COSD. Click on the name of the journal, then you can either browse by publication year/issue number or search the entire publication for all years available online.
- Search Databases for full-text articles, book chapters, conference papers, etc. by keywords.
- Watch a short database Tutorial to help you navigate ComDisDome.
Key Journals in the Field
American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology
Addresses all aspects of clinical practice in speech-language pathology, including screening, assessment and treatment techniques; prevention, professional issues, supervision and administration.
American Journal of Audiology
Addresses all aspects of clinical practice in audiology, including screening, assessment & treatment techniques; prevention; professional issues; supervision; and administration.
Language, Speech & Hearing Services in Schools
All aspects of clinical speech, language, & hearing services to children & adolescents, particularly in school settings.
Augmentative & Alternative Communication
Provides original reports on the development of communication competence in persons with severe speech and/or communication impairments.
American Annals of the Deaf
Publishes full-text articles about deaf education and recent research into trends and issues in the field of deafness.
START WITH THESE DATABASES:
ComDisDome (Communication Sciences and Disorders Dome) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, ebooks, dissertations, and grants focusing on the fields of speech-language pathology and audiology. An indexing and abstracting database (not full-text) with subject areas that include augmentative and alternative communication, communication mechanism and systems, electroneuronography, pediatric audiology, and more. Coverage dates: 1950 - present
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journal articles for communication studies in the fields of language acquisition, linguistics, telecommunications, speech-language pathology, and more. Coverage dates: 1920 - present
Medline Complete This link opens in a new window
Biomedical literature from around the world. Includes the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and related areas. Coverage dates: 1865 - present
IF YOU CAN'T FIND WHAT YOU ARE LOOKING FOR, TRY THESE DATABASES:
Web of Science
Journal articles, conference proceedings, patents, and more in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. A feature of Web of Science is the ability to see which articles have cited a given article. Coverage dates: 1864 - present
PsycInfo (APA PsycInfo) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, ebooks, videos, technical reports, and dissertations covering all aspects of global behavioural and social sciences research. Coverage dates: 1887 – present
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source of nursing & allied health journals. Research materials (systematic reviews, randomized controlled trials, meta-synthesis, evidenced based practice), peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets, and quick lesson disease overviews. Coverage dates: 1937 - present
You can search the library's catalog and browse the website 24/7. However, accessing databases, e-books and e-journal content from off-campus requires your TCU username and password.