LibGuides: Wellness Guide: Physical Wellness

MedlinePlus RSS

What is Physical Wellness?

Physical Wellness is the ability to maintain a healthy quality of life that allows us to get through our daily activities without undue fatigue or physical stress. The ability to recognize that our behaviors have a significant impact on our wellness and adopting healthful habits (routine check ups, a balanced diet, exercise, etc.) while avoiding destructive habits (tobacco, drugs, alcohol, etc.) will lead to optimal Physical Wellness.

Source: http://wellness.ucr.edu/seven_dimensions.html

Online Resources

American Diabetes Association
Answers your questions about diabetes.
American Dietetic Association
The world's largest organization of food and nutrition professionals. ADA is committed to improving the nation’s health and advancing the profession of dietetics through research, education and advocacy.
American Heart Association
The American Heart Association's "Getting Healthy" has information about diet & nutrition, healthy tools, exercise & fitness, and more.
Arthritis Foundation
Offers information and tools to help people live a better life with arthritis.
AARP: Health
American Association of Retired Persons maintains this page which links to healthy tips on exercise, eating right, personal care and much more.
CDC – Center for Disease Control and Prevention
The CDC.gov is CDC’s primary online communication channel. The CDC provides users with credible, reliable health information on Diseases and Conditions, Emergencies and Disasters, Environmental Health, Traveler’s Health, Workplace Safety and Health, and more…
Clinical Trials
ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. This site gives you information about a trial’s purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
Eat Well Guide
A free online database for finding fresh, locally grown and sustainably produced food in the United States and Canada. Plan a trip to eat well everywhere.
Family Doctor
Family Doctor website is operated by the AAFP, the American Academy of Physicians; it has several tabs of information from healthy living to parents and kid’s health, also some invaluable tools such as Search by Symptom, Health Dictionary, Health Calculators, BMI Calculators, and much more!
Health.gov
A portal to the Web sites of a number of multi-agency health initiatives and activities of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) and other Federal departments and agencies.
Health Finder
Healthfinder.gov is a Web site where you will find information and tools to help you and those you care about stay healthy. The site also includes a Quick Guide to Healthy Living, Personal Health Tools, a link to finding services and information in your area.
Healthline
Comprehensive information on a number of diseases and conditions, as well as healthy living guides. The symptom search is specific and can identify a condition quickly. Says it gives better and fewer hits than Google. Under Healthy Living is a section on Fitness & Exercise.
Healthy People 2020
Challenges individuals, communities, and professionals, indeed all of us to take specific steps to ensure that good health, as well as long life, are enjoyed by all.
Human Nutrition: Home
The mission of the Beltsville Human Nutrition Research Center is to define, through research, the role of food and its components in optimizing human health and in reducing the risk of nutritionally related disorders in the diverse population.
Mayo Clinic
The mission of this website, is to empower people to manage their health, by providing useful and up-to-date information and tools that reflect the expertise and standard of excellence of Mayo Clinic. Some of the tools available are free personalized health manager, free E-Newsletter with the latest updates on health topics, and much more.
Kid’s Health
Kid’s Health is an information site about health, behavior, and development from before birth through the teen years. The site is divided into three informative areas: For Parents, For Kids, and For Teens. Each page has something individual for the age group, such as a pregnancy calendar for adults, games and coloring page for kids, and hot topics for teens.
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
Merck Manuals
To bring out the best in medicine Merck provides all of the Merck Manuals as a service to the community for free.
Noah - New York Online Access to Health
NOAH provides access to high quality full-text consumer health information in English and Spanish that is accurate, timely, relevant, and unbiased.
PubMed
PubMed is the U.S. National Library of Medicine’s premier search system for health information. Citation references including abstracts from thousands of biomedical journals.
WebMD
Provides valuable health information, tools for managing your health, and support to those who seek information. You can trust that content is timely and credible.

Books from the Library

The Doctors 5-Minute Health Fixes by Doctors Staff; Mariska van Aalst
ISBN: 9781605293264
Publication Date: 2010-09-14
The Wellness Guide to Lifelong Fitness by University of California at Berkeley Wellness Lett; Timothy P. White
ISBN: 0929661087
Publication Date: 1993-09-21
Wellness Self-Care Handbook by John E. Swartzberg; Sheldon Margen
ISBN: 0929661427
Publication Date: 1998-11-17
The Woman's Book of Yoga and Health by Linda Sparrowe; Patricia Walden; David Martinez (Photographer)
ISBN: 1570624704
Publication Date: 2002-12-03
Your Body by Matthew MacDonald
ISBN: 9780596801748
Publication Date: 2009-08-05

Nursing & Health Sciences Librarian

Alysha Sapp

She/Her/Hers

Email Me

Contact:

TCU Box 298400

Fort Worth, TX 76129

817-257-5348

Subjects: Anesthesia, Citation Tools, Health & Wellness, Health Sciences, Nursing