LibGuides: American Revolution: Find Primary Sources

Primary Sources: Best Bets

Rotunda

Contains primary source documents relevant to the drafting of the United States Constitution and early presidential papers. Coverage dates: 1740-1851

American Periodicals

Includes special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. Coverage dates: 1740-1900.

American History 1493-1945

Contains primary source documents from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. Coverage dates: 1493-1945.

This digital collection includes books and primary source documents from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, and libraries around the world. Coverage dates: 19th - 20th Century

Primary Sources by Topic

AM Explorer
Historical primary sources from around the world about a variety of subjects. Coverage dates: 1400 - present

American Revolution: A Documentary History | Yale Law Library
Government documents from both Great Britain and colonial legislatures associated with the American Revolution. Coverage dates: 1764 - 1783

America's Historical Newspapers
U.S. historical newspapers. Coverage dates: 1690 - 1876
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection
American magazines and journals documenting the U.S. from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. Coverage dates: 1691 - 1877
Early American Imprints
Primary source books, pamphlets, and broadsides that describe life in early American history. Coverage dates: 1631 - 1819

American Revolution: A Resource Guide
Digital documents and papers from the American Revolutionary era curated by the Library of Congress. Coverage dates: 1763-1783

America's Historical Newspapers
U.S. historical newspapers. Coverage dates: 1690 - 1876
AncestryLibrary
Genealogy resources including U.S. and U.K. census data, ships' logs and passenger indexes, vital records, WWI draft cards, maps, reference ebooks, and more. Basic library subscription. Users will need a personal subscription to create a tree online. Coverage dates: 1400 - 1999
Early American Imprints
Primary source books, pamphlets, and broadsides that describe life in early American history. Coverage dates: 1631 - 1819
Sabin Americana
Primary sources about the history of the Americas, including Central, North, and South America. Coverage dates: 1500 - 1926

Congressional Publications (ProQuest)
Congressional hearings, public issues, legislation, member biographies, committee assignments, voting records, financial data, and key regulatory and statutory resources. Coverage dates: 1789 - present
HathiTrust
Government information, ebooks, and primary sources from a variety of places, including Google, the Internet Archive, and libraries around the world. Coverage dates: 1850 - present
Rotunda
Primary sources about the drafting of the United States Constitution and early presidential papers. Coverage dates: 1770 - 1930

Primary Sources by type

AM Explorer
Historical primary sources from around the world about a variety of subjects. Coverage dates: 1400 - present
Early American Imprints
Primary source books, pamphlets, and broadsides that describe life in early American history. Coverage dates: 1631 - 1819
Early English Books Online
Works from Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue, Wing's Short-Title Catalogue, the Thomason Tracts, and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Works are from Great Britain, British North America, and texts in English printed elsewhere. Coverage dates: 1473 - 1700
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Digitized materials for every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom and thousands of American works. Coverage dates: 1701 - 1800
HathiTrust
Government information, ebooks, and primary sources from a variety of places, including Google, the Internet Archive, and libraries around the world. Coverage dates: 1850 - present
Rotunda
Primary sources about the drafting of the United States Constitution and early presidential papers. Coverage dates: 1770 - 1930

Newspaper Collections

America's Historical Newspapers
U.S. historical newspapers. Coverage dates: 1690 - 1876
NewspaperArchive
Historical newspaper articles. Coverage dates: 1759 - 2006
Times of London Digital Archive
Prominent British newspaper. Coverage dates: 1785 - 6 years ago

Magazine Collections

American Periodicals Series
Literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and more. Coverage dates: 1740 - 1940

Congressional Publications (ProQuest)
Congressional hearings, public issues, legislation, member biographies, committee assignments, voting records, financial data, and key regulatory and statutory resources. Coverage dates: 1789 - present
HathiTrust
Government information, ebooks, and primary sources from a variety of places, including Google, the Internet Archive, and libraries around the world. Coverage dates: 1850 - present
HeinOnline
Government documents and legal research materials: U.S. statutory materials, law reviews, state and federal case law, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and more. Coverage dates: 1840 - present

Historical Statistics of the United States
Statistical data representing U.S. history. Coverage dates: 1790 - 2000

American Revolution: Find Primary Sources