Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Global Map of Indigenous Peoples
Source: National Geographic
Recomended Databases - Research Articles
Art & Architecture Source
A broad range of art related subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Searches the content of these well known art resources: Art Index Retrospective, Art Index, and Art Abstracts. Coverage dates: 1937 - present
Archive of articles and news published by the American Anthropological Association. Coverage dates: 1800 - present
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
Books and articles published about Indigenous peoples in North America. Coverage dates: 1500 - present
America: History and Life with Full Text
Peer-reviewed articles about American history. Coverage dates: 1955 - present
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Peer-reviewed articles about the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada). Coverage dates: 1955 - present
SocINDEX with Full Text
Peer-reviewed journal articles for topics in anthropology, criminal justice, social work, and sociology. Coverage dates: 1895 - Current.
Library Catalog - Books, films, etc.
Searching the TCU Library Catalog by SUBJECT
Indians of North America
Search by the name of a tribe (example: Navajo; use the singular word)
Note: Indigenous peoples includes works on the aboriginal inhabitants either of colonial areas or of modern states where the aboriginal peoples are not in control of the government. General works on the ethnological composition of specific places are entered under Ethnology.
*Note: The Library of Congress Classification System (LC) still uses some outdated terminology to classify Native American topics and issues.
Use additional art related terms to narrow your search -
Addtional Online Resources
Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries worldwide.
In-depth analysis about current and controversial issues, including viewpoints from different sides of each issue.
Journals from first issue to 3-5 years ago, plus recent scholarly books. Multiple subjects, especially strong in Arts and Sciences. Coverage dates: 1800 - present
Wiley Online Library
A multi-disciplinary database that provides access to millions of articles from thousands of journals, thousands of books, and hundreds of multi-volume reference works. Coverage dates: varies.
American Indian Histories and Cultures
Primary sources about indigenous people in the U.S. Coverage dates: 1492 - present
American Indians and American West, 1809 - 1971
Primary sources about indigenous people in the U.S., focusing on "Indian Removal" and "Indian Wars," from Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes. Coverage dates: 1809 - 1971
A Note on Terminology
Please note that some library materials may contain outdated, inaccurate, offensive, derogatory, and/or harmful terminology. This language reflects usage at the time of a document's creation (historical context) as well as controlled vocabularies used to describe particular topics (i.e., the Library of Congress Classification Scheme as it is used to catalogue Indigenous materials).
Materials on First Nations and Indigenous topics can be challenging to locate because Indigenous Peoples, places, and ways of knowing may be identified by more than one name, variant spellings, as well as colonially imposed names.
Text sourced from: https://guides.library.ubc.ca/fnia/books
The Timbuktu Manuscripts
Africa's Greatest Written Legacy
Immerse yourself in 40,000+ digitized pages of the Timbuktu manuscripts
Indigenous Research and Documentation - Templates & Guides
Films & Documentaries
Publication Date: 2021
The Maralinga people survive aggressive colonisation, including dispossession to enable atomic testing, and through their tenacious spirit and cultural strength fight to retain their country.
Narritjin in Canberra by
Publication Date: 1978
In 1978 Narritjin Maymuru and his son Banapana were awarded fellowships as Visiting Artists to the Faculty of Arts at the Australian National University in Canberra. For three months they and their families worked in their campus studio.
Moai on Rapa Nui
Publication Date: 2019
For the Polynesian island nation of Rapa Nui, the giant Moai statues possess a strong, spiritual power, called ‘mana’. This video explores the way that Rapanui spirituality is expressed both artistically and through the cultural tradition of the Birdman competition, ‘Tangata Manu’.
African Art by
Publication Date: 2005
In the villages of sub-Saharan Africa where traditions are still strong, art is an integral part of daily life.
Over one million images from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates from all over the world.
Bloomsbury Design Library
Scholarly coverage of design and crafts worldwide. Authoritative reference and ebook content, alongside a rich selection of museum object images, which are fully searchable. Coverage dates: 1500 BC - present
Handbook of Indigenous Religion(s) by
Publication Date: 2017-06-21
Extremely distant and distinct indigenous communities have over recent decades become more like themselves and more like each other - a paradox prevalent globally but inadequately explained by established analytical frames, particularly with regard to religion. Addressing this rich and unfolding context, the Handbook of Indigenous Religion(s) engages a wide variety of locations and perspectives.