This guide shows online and print resources related to environmental science.
Last Updated: Jan 27, 2015
Use these databases to search for journal articles about environmental science topics.
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.
The number one place to start when searching for geology articles. GeoRef Indexes the geoscience literature of the world including over 3500 journals, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
- Web of Science
A citation database that allows you to search the online versions of Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. The analyze tool can be used to filter results by author, publication year, journal subject category, institution, language or source title.
- BIOSIS Citation Index
BIOSIS Citation Index searches approximately 6,000 journal titles in biology and the life sciences. Also searches conference proceedings, books, and book chapters. Contains citation data for each item.
Serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source of citations to agricultural information.
Searches over 150 bioscience publications from independent publishers and contains the full text of over 80 journal titles.
Provides access to hundreds of full-text journals published by Elsevier in subjects including science, engineering, technology, medicine and business.
- Birds of North America
Provides comprehensive life histories for each of the 700+ species of birds breeding in the USA (including Hawaii) and Canada.
- Science and Technology Collection
Provides full text and abstracting for over 800 journals as well as indexing and abstracting for more than 1700 publications. Subjects include astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, physics, archaeology and materials science.
- Zoological Record
Zoological Record is the world's oldest continuing database of animal biology. It is considered the world's leading taxonomic reference, with coverage back to 1864, it has acted as the world's unofficial register of animal names.
These databases are very general in nature.
- Academic Search Complete
Searches thousands of journals on all topics. "Every topic under the sun" is in here.
- Dissertations and Theses at TCU
Contains full text of dissertations and theses produced by TCU students. The Current Research@ Gateway link on the main page will also let you view 24 page previews of dissertations and theses submitted at other participating institutions from 1999-present.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Contains online encyclopedias and other other reference sources on a wide variety of topics.