This guide shows online and print resources related to geology.
Last Updated: Jan 22, 2014
Use these databases to search for journal articles about geology topics.
The number one place to start when searching for geology articles.
- AAPG Datapages
A combined publications database of over 20 geoscience societies. This full text database covers petroleum geology and related fields.
GeoScienceWorld (GSW) is a collection of over 40 full-text journals in the earth sciences. GSW and GeoRef can be searched simultaneously using the GSW search interface.
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.
OnePetro searches a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry. OnePetro includes full text access to publications of nine major professional organizations in the industry.
- GSA Publications
Links to Geological Society of America publications, including both journals and ebooks.
- SEPM Publications Online
Links to several SEPM publications, including the online book series archives.
- Geological Society of London Publications
Links to all GSL publications, including both journals and eBooks.
- SEG Digital Library
Links to all Society of Exploration Geophysicists publications, including both journals and ebooks.
- Web of Science
A citation database that allows you to search the online versions of Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. The analyze tool can be used to filter results by author, publication year, journal subject category, institution, language or source title.
These databases are very general in nature.
- Academic Search Complete
Searches thousands of journals on all topics. "Every topic under the sun" is in here.
- Dissertations and Theses at TCU
Contains full text of dissertations and theses produced by TCU students. The Current Research@ Gateway link on the main page will also let you view 24 page previews of dissertations and theses submitted at other participating institutions from 1999-present.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Contains online encyclopedias and other other reference sources on a wide variety of topics.