Skip to main content

Grey Literature: Reports & Reviews

What is grey literature? How do I find Grey Literature?

AHRQ

The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) is the lead Federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of America's health care system. AHRQ develops the knowledge, tools, and data needed to improve the health care system and help Americans, health care professionals, and policymakers make informed health decisions.

    • Search for Research Summaries, Reviews and Reports
    • The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), through its EPCs, sponsors the development of various reports to assist public- and private-sector organizations in their efforts to improve the quality of health care in the United States. These reports provide comprehensive, science-based information on common, costly medical conditions and new health care technologies and strategies. The EPCs review all relevant scientific literature on a wide spectrum of clinical and health services topics. EPCs also produce technical reports on methodological topics and other types of evidence synthesis-related reports.

    • The Technology Assessment (TA) Program at the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) provides technology assessments for the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS). These technology assessments are used by CMS to inform its national coverage decisions for the Medicare program as well as provide information to Medicare carriers.

Campbell Collaboration

The Campbell Collaboration promotes positive social and economic change through the production and use of systematic reviews and other evidence synthesis for evidence-based policy and practice.

California Technology Assessment Forum

The California Technology Assessment Forum (CTAF), a core program of the Institute for Clinical and Economic Review (ICER), is a nationally-recognized community forum. CTAF convenes three times each year at public meetings to review objective evidence reports and develop recommendations for how stakeholders can apply evidence to improve the quality and value of health care. Learn more about the CTAF process, and find out how topics are selected.

Centre for Reviews and Dissemination

CRD is a research department that specialises in evidence synthesis, assembling and analysing data from multiple research studies to generate policy relevant research. We undertake high quality systematic reviews and associated economic evaluations, develop underpinning methods, and promote and facilitate the use of research evidence in decision-making.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases and it is an authoritative full-text source of evidence over health care. It includes systematic reviews, clinical trials, research studies, clinical answers, and more.

Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency

Projects include Med-Devices, Neuroscience, & more. Search by tag.

Drug Effectiveness Review Project

From the Oregon Health & Science University. Search documents in the left side bar.

The Drug Effectiveness Review Project (DERP) was initiated in 2003 in response to dramatic increases in the cost of pharmaceuticals, which lessened the purchasing power of state Medicaid budgets. A collaborative group of state Medicaid agencies and other organizations was formed to commission high-quality comparative effectiveness reviews to inform evidence-based decisions about drugs that would be available to Medicaid recipients.

EPPI-Centre Databases

The Evidence for Policy and Practice Information and Co-ordinating Centre conducts systematic reviews across a range of topics.

Health Services and Sciences Research Resources (HSRR)

Research datasets & instruments used in research in the health services. From the National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR).

Health Services/Technology Assessment Texts (HSTAT)

Full text documents of a variety of reports. Also search other titles in the Bookshelf.

Health Technology Assessment International

Search using the Interest Sub-groups menu.

HTAi's Interest Groups serve as hubs for sharing international experiences and expertise among HTA users and producers worldwide.

All members of HTAi are invited to join one or more Interest Group!

Institute for Clinical Systems Improvement

Browse documents by type in the drop-down list; some of the documents are free, some are not. 

ICSI has a rigorous process for developing and maintaining evidence-based guidelines and protocols.

Joanna Briggs Institute

To find current topics under review click on Research and Identified Review Topics. If you want to see full reviews and/or protocols, and you are a TCU Student/Faculty/Staff, go here

The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) is the international not-for-profit, research and development Centre within the Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences at the University of Adelaide, South Australia.

The Institute collaborates internationally with over 70 entities across the world. The Institute and its Collaborating Entities promote and support the synthesis, transfer and utilization of evidence through identifying feasible, appropriate, meaningful and effective healthcare practices to assist in the improvement of healthcare outcomes globally.

 Translational Science

 Synthesis Science

 Implementation Science

 Software for health professionals

 Promoting evidence-based practice

Kaiser Family Foundation

Browse reports by topic and type, under MENU.

A leader in health policy analysis and health journalism, the Kaiser Family Foundation is dedicated to filling the need for trusted information on national health issues.

Kaiser is a non-profit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. Unlike grant-making foundations, Kaiser develops and runs its own policy analysis, journalism and communications programs, sometimes in partnership with major news organizations.

We serve as a non-partisan source of facts, analysis and journalism for policymakers, the media,  the health policy community and the public. Our product is information, always provided free of charge — from the most sophisticated policy research, to basic facts and numbers, to in depth health policy news coverage provided by our news service, KHN, to information young people can use to improve their health or the general public can use to understand the health reform law.

Milbank Memorial Fund Reports

The Milbank Memorial Fund has published The Milbank Quarterly, a peer-reviewed journal of population health and health policy since 1923. It has commissioned and published reports since early in the last century and, beginning in the early 1990s, published a series called Milbank Reports. The Fund also publishes Issue Briefs and Milbank-Supported Reports

National Academy of Medicine publications

Formerly IOM

The National Academies Press (NAP) was created by the National Academy of Sciences to publish the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine operating under a charter granted by the Congress of the United States. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative information on important matters in science and health policy. The institutions served by the NAP are unique in their ability to attract leading experts in many fields to join panels and committees charged with providing policy advice on some of the nation’s most pressing scientific, technical, and health-related issues.

National Technical Information Service

Provides access to the results of U.S. and non-U.S. government-sponsored research.

Nature Preceedings

Nature Precedings was launched in 2007 as NPG’s preprint server for the Life Science community. Since 2007, technological advances and the needs of the research community have evolved to the extent that the Nature Precedings site is unsustainable as it was originally conceived. As a result, Nature Precedings ceased accepting new submissions as of April 3rd, 2012. The full archive of existing content remains freely accessible at this site and will be maintained by NPG.

NIH RePORT

Includes many resources in this guide; searchable Public Databases.

PHPartners Statistical Reports

Links to data on the health of a population. For data about public health workforce go to Public Health Data

Prevention Institute

Prevention Institute was founded in 1997 as the national center for developing and advancing the practice of primary prevention. We strive to shift the overarching mindset and approach to health from one that focuses solely on treating sick individuals, to one that prevents disease, violence and injury before they occur. We are building a movement to transform communities to support equity, health, and safety in the first place, by bolstering the conditions and factors that foster resilience and wellbeing.

RAND Corporation

The RAND Corporation is a research organization that develops solutions to public policy challenges to help make communities throughout the world safer and more secure, healthier and more prosperous. RAND is nonprofit, nonpartisan, and committed to the public interest.

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

As the nation's largest public health philanthropy, we strive to build a national Culture of Health that will enable all to live longer, healthier lives.

DRUM

ISR Technical Reports are available on the University of Maryland's DRUM system. (Digital Repository at the University of Maryland).

VA Clinical Guidance

Clinical Guidance Reviews conducted through Veterans Affairs.

VA Research & Development

Publications and reports can be found by clicking on the publication type, which will display the existing issues for that publication.