The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. FDsys contains Congressional record volumes from 140 (1994) to the present. At the back of each daily issue is the "Daily Digest," which summarizes the day's floor and committee activities.
The SuDoc classification number is X 1.1/A:
This resource is available in PRINT and ONLINE
The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. The Congressional Record began publication in 1873, and is still published today.
Note: Debates for sessions prior to 1873 are recorded in The Debates and Proceedings in the Congress of the United States (1789-1824), the Register of Debates in Congress (1824-1837), and the Congressional Globe (1833-1873). These can be accessed through A Century of Lawmaking For a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates.
The public proceedings of each House of Congress, as reported by the Official Reporters thereof, are printed pursuant to directions of the Joint Committee on Printing as authorized by appropriate provisions of Title 44, United States Code, excepting very infrequent instances when two or more unusually small consecutive issues are printed one time. The Laws and Rules for Publication of the Congressional Record are published periodically.
The Congressional Record consists of four sections:
Daily Digest
House section
Senate section
Extension of Remarks
At the back of each daily issue is the "Daily Digest," which summarizes the day's floor and committee activities and serves as a table of contents for each issue. The House and Senate sections contain proceedings for the separate chambers of Congress. Finally, the Extension of Remarks includes tributes, statements, and other information that supplements statements made on the Congressional floor.
govinfo contains Congressional Record volumes from 140 (1994) to the present. The current year's Congressional Record database is usually updated daily by 11 a.m., except when a late adjournment delays production of the issue. Documents are available in ASCII text and Adobe Portable Document Format (PDF). The date of the publication refers to the date the proceedings were recorded, not necessarily the date of delivery.
The Laws and Rules for Publication of the Congressional Record are published periodically and available in PDF and ASCII text. PDF | Text
Following each session of Congress, the daily Congressional Record is revised, printed, permanently bound and sold by the Superintendent of Documents in individual parts or by sets. The Bound Congressional Record is also available online.
To place an order for any of these products, visit the U.S. Government Online Bookstore . The Congressional Record paper and 24x microfiche edition will be furnished by mail to subscribers, free of postage. The semimonthly Congressional Record Index may be purchased for the same per issue prices.
This section of the Congressional Record serves as a table of contents for the House and Senate actions reported in the issue and statements published in the Extensions of Remarks.
The Daily Digest begins with highlights of the day's action, followed by a summary for the Senate and a summary for the House. Each summary includes such items as measures introduced, reported or passed, as well measures under consideration. Each entry references the Senate or House page number where the item is reported.
The Daily Digest also includes a list of Committee meetings held that day and scheduled for the following day; the schedule for the next meeting of each chamber, and a list of Extensions of Remarks inserted in that issue.
Pages are number sequentially throughout the session of Congress. Each Digest page begins with the letter D and appears in the format D1234.
This section of the Congressional Record contains the public proceedings and debates of the U.S. House of Representatives. It includes both words spoken on the floor of the House and words inserted or appended by Members of Congress. The list of registered lobbyists is published quarterly in the House section.
Pages are number sequentially throughout the session of Congress. Each House page begins with the letter H and appears in the format H1234.
This section of the Congressional Record contains the public proceedings and debates of the U.S. Senate. It includes both words spoken and the floor of the Senate and words inserted or appended by Senators.
Pages are number sequentially throughout the session of Congress. Each Senate page begins with the letter S and appears in the format S1234.
This section of the Congressional Record contains tributes, statements, and other information that supplements statements made by Members on the floor of the House or Senate.
Pages are number sequentially throughout the session of Congress. Each Extensions page begins with the letter E and appears in the format E1234.
With the exception of copyrighted articles, there are no restrictions on the republication of material from the Congressional Record.
The information published in titled the Congressional Record was previously published under the following titles:
All variations of this title can be found in print in our Government Document collection located on South 1 (see map below).
