Skip to main content

Music Research Guide: Home

What Do You Need?

If your assignment is writing, you need reference databases and print/e-books! If your assignment is listening/viewing, you need streaming databases or CDs/DVDs!

Use databases anywhere with internet! Print books are in the library to check out or use here. Some major reference books are now also databases.

Look for the additional info button (blue "i") beside a title to learn more!

M/M Library Hours

Our hours are shorter than the rest of the building!  Fall and Spring hours:

Sunday: 2:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Monday:  8:00 am - 12:00 am

Tuesday:  8:00 am - 10:00 pm

Wednesday: 8:00 am - 10:00 pm

Thursday:  8:00 am - 12:00 am

Friday:  8:00 am - 6:00 pm

Saturday:  10:00 am - 6:00 pm

Citation Help

Chicago, Turabian, APA... sounds more like travel than bibliography. Helpful links to get the perfect bib!

WHAT'S NEW?!?!?!

New databases, database changes, cool new resources... what has happened lately in YOUR Music/Media Library???

Grove/Oxford Online got a facelift last semester! Like many plastic surgeries, the results are less than stellar. It is not as functional as the previous incarnation. Here are my top 5 differences:

1) Works and bibliography lists aren't broken out into helpful categories anymore.

2) Search within an article is gone. Use Ctrl F.

3) Relevancy rankings (where does the article you need actually show up in the results list?) are rubbish. Simple biography entries could be 4-5 articles down the list. Keep scrolling.

4) The facets are weird. Be careful or they will send your results down a rabbit hole of nothing.

5) Large musical families are difficult to navigate through. Patience is required.

It's Movie Night!

We have a collection of popular movies for checkout!! It's not exactly NetFlix, but we have over 10,000 titles! Click below for "how-to" for different types of searches you can do to find the perfect movie for you!

The Best Music Research Databases!

These are some of the most often used music databases starting with every researcher's first stop: Grove/Oxford Music Online.

Subject Guide

Cari Alexander's picture
Cari Alexander
Contact:
Email: c.alexander2@tcu.edu

Phone: 817-257-6623
Subjects:Music

Our New Blog!!

Check out our new blog about our CDs!