LibGuides: Graphic Design: ARGD 20323 Typography I

Typography I

Top Library eBooks for your famous designer papers!
Important Search Tip for eBooks! Use the ebook's search function and type in the designer’s name within quotation marks. This is called a keyword-phrase search. Example: “Neville Brody”

Design School: Type by Richard Poulin
Publication Date: Rockport Publishers, 2017
Hint! Bios for most (but not all) of the
designers are in this book!
The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Graphic Design and Designers by Alan Livingston; Isabella Livingston
A great designer biographic encyclopedic resource!
Stop Stealing Sheep and Find Out How Type Works, Third Edition by Erik Spiekermann
A great biographic resource that talks about many designers! Enter in your TCU email address for access to this title.
The Moderns by Steven Heller; Greg D'Onofrio
The book is made up of generously illustrated profiles, many based on interviews, of more than 60 designers who created the visual aesthetics of postwar modernity.
All Access by Stefan G. Bucher
Presents the life stories of some extraordinary designers, including Margo Chase, Ed Fella and Mirko IliOc, and illustrates them with work samples that span all stages of their careers.
Graphic Icons by John Clifford
Who are history's most iconic graphic designers? Let the debate begin here. In Graphic Icons: Visionaries Who Shaped Modern Graphic Design, students start with the who and quickly learn the what, when, why, and where behind graphic design's most important breakthroughs.
Typography, Referenced
Typography, Referenced is the single most comprehensive volume covering every aspect of typography that any design student, professional designer, or design aficionado needs to know today.

Searching for Articles - Journals & Magazines

Let the research begin! Finding research on typography or typographers, especially more recent artists, can be difficult. To some extent, little is published on the history of current and recent typographical artists. However, there are a couple good places for you to start with your research.

Databases (for journals & magazines)
Begin your search with the following databases:

FrogScholar
Art & Architecture Source
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
JSTOR

Important Search Tip!!!
When searching databases or eBooks, type the designer’s name in quotes and search it as a keyword phrase.
Example: “Margo Chase”

Remember... You must have two academic sources, but only one of can be encyclopedic in nature. Note! Wikipedia and Google are not scholarly resources because the information located there has not been verified.

Encyclopedias

Credo Reference
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles across all areas of research. Some images, video, and audio files. Coverage dates: 1966 - current.
Oxford Art Online
Gateway to Oxford’s art reference works, including the peer-reviewed, Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists.
Oxford Reference Online
Dictionaries, encyclopedias, timelines and quotations. Very strong in humanities and social sciences, some medicine and science and technology. Coverage dates: 2002 - present
Biography in Context
People of global significance from antiquity to the present. Multimedia from 1984 - until today. Coverage dates 1936 - present
Gale Ebooks
Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Was Gale Virtual Reference Library (VRL). Coverage dates: 1965 - present

Library Course Reserve Books for Typography

ARGD 20323 Course Reserve List
This is a list of all books on Reserve at the Circulation Desk for your Typography class.

Reserve Books - Designer Locator
BONUS! This spread sheet shows you which designers are in each book on Reserve.

Designers

Neville Brody

Matthew Carter

Margo Chase

Louise Fili

Tobias Frere-Jones

April Greiman

Tibor Kalman

Zuzana Licko

Stanley Morison

Paula Scher

Erik Spiekermann

Jan Tschichold

Massimo Vignelli

Fred Woodward

Hermann Zapf

Find even more eBook sources!

Important tip for using eBooks!

Use the ebook's search function and type in the designer’s name within quotation marks. This is called a keyword-phrase search.

Example: “Paula Scher”

Ebook Central
Search thousands of full text eBooks at one time!
EBSCO E-Books
Search thousands of full text eBooks at one time!
O'Reilly Online Learning
Search thousands of full text eBooks at one time! NOTE: To access Safari Books, select not listed and then enter in your TCU email address.

Trusted Web Resources

Rhonda Rubinstein, “Emigre Fonts: Interview with Zuzana Licko,” Eye , 2002. www.emigre.com/Licko1.php.

“April Greiman,” American Institute of Graphic Arts. https://www.aiga.org/medalist-aprilgreiman.

Browse the Stacks!

If you are on campus this semester, browse the stacks!
Most books on Graphic Design are going to be in the following call number sections on the 1st floor of the TCU Library:

NC845 - NC1940 MAP
This section deals with drawing, design, and illustration. Advertising and commercial arts are included in this area. Large format books in the NCs are in the northwest corner called the Quarto section.

Z4 - Z276 MAP
This section deals with the history of books, printing, typesetting, etc. This section will include the history of typography and biographies of typographers.

Graphic Design: ARGD 20323 Typography I

Help